Change is Good

in #life6 years ago (edited)

10258312_10152401378338711_7322362966602132164_o.jpg

I think I am now in one of the challenging parts of this startup journey, taking care of all that legal stuff. I'm sure it's more strict and controlled out there so somehow I still feel grateful that I am in this part of the world. The real opportunities are here, technically. This is the real land of the free.

But hey, still, nothing is easy. But I know once I've gotten past this stage, I'd be able to concentrate more on growing my own business. Gone were the days I was growing other people's businesses. This is my time now. I would be as happy as a kid after finally getting her second marshmallow. I'd be more proud of myself after working on everything with just my bare hands.

As always, the government is making me jump through all sorts of hoops to get this micro business legally off the ground. Some of my contractors are also asking for papers. But I am also taking advantage of this tax exemption program for small entrepreneurs who have nothing, meaning that they don't own any grand thing in life, assets, fat bank account or any valuable properties. This is just a fairly recent program that is not yet being taken advantage of here as locals are busier not minding their own business.

Yesterday, I was talking to a local government unit officer who is in charge of licensing, basically explaining to him in simpler terms what my business is all about. All he did was to tell me "No". Good thing I am persistent as hell who would not take no for an answer anymore, especially after all that I've gone through in this startup journey. One thing I hate most about people here, especially those working in institutions and public services, is when they just say no without providing any alternative modes or solutions. It is just so annoying, isn't it? Like why not do your job, hey? It does not take that much time to think and explain. It makes me wish that AI should finally take over and eliminate some of the BS jobs in this world. Humans can't just do the job sometimes.

Anyway so much for that little rant, I didn't get out of the office until he was convinced. Mind you, this was just the first stage of getting the sole proprietorship permits. I just have to be pleasing and sweet as Georgia Peach. In the end, it was just a matter of getting to a more acceptable and known business category, something that is within their comfort zone. It takes a lot of mental tax for them to comprehend. Online booking or online tour agency, or itinerary designer, or trip designer what? None of that worked. They were pushing me to be a traditional travel agency with employees, a big office and all of that. It does not make any sense to me why I should not be given a chance to start something new and start small. Until we've finally come up with a proper term, "ahh you are establishing a ticketing office", the officer finally told me. Fine, if this is what really describes me. If this is what they are really familiar with - a third-party agency that purchases 'tickets' on behalf of travelers, whether a transportation ticket or an island-tour package 'ticket'. I would not be able to get that if I didn't persistently extract their brains out to come up with something applicable for my business, excuse the arrogance. In this part of the world, never take no for an answer. And oh, did you know that patience is a virtue?

Don't even be surprised why this society has not yet gotten ahead, people are still trapped in the past and are not welcoming to anything that sounds new to their ears. We are just so behind in everything. I'm annoyed as hell that even the banking system still works backward to this day. Online payment or money transfer is a pain, this is the time I am seriously hoping that cryptocurrencies would finally replace the traditional modes of payment.

If you are introducing something new, never underestimate the learning curve. People are more comfortable with whatever they have accustomed to within the confines of this small town. They feel bitter when foreigners, outsiders, someone not from this town get ahead in business. They will start looking for faults in others like noisy empty tin cans. And now I perfectly understand what the locals here lack, it's not the money actually, it's foresight. They sit around waiting for money to come down from the heavens, not planning or preparing for anything. Not trying to learn something new. The ability to think long-term requires high mental bandwidth. They would rather spend their time talking about others instead of focusing on improving their own lives. Tell me about this, I am experiencing it all. I am about to introduce something new and I can smell fear. But I like change. I like changing things because change is good. I just have to be bulletproof.

Sort:  

"Good thing I am persistent as hell who would not take no for an answer anymore, especially after all that I've gone through in this startup journey."

That is a good quality to have and it is needed if someone wants to get anything done in this life. Most people just roll over and when someone doesn't, it shocks the person who tells you no and they often cave if you persist.

Oh yeah, I also read your terms and conditions in your last post. They looked good to me but legal stuff is definitely not my field lol.

legal stuff is definitely not my field lol.

Haha I understand!

Just dont worry i will say to be nice with every one in your life.

That will be a problem lol.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Yes change is inevitable to excel in life. True words Neither money can't come down from the heavens nor it grows on trees. You need some great efforts, hard work and fearless decision to get money. I wish you all the best for your business. keep it up @diabolika

Your locals sound just like my former locals on the island haha.

Surprised every time when these things are monthly..unbelievable sometimes!

Good for you for not taking no as an answer!
In my opinion, in most countries dealing with government unit/office is a pain in the ass, only in developing countries it's slower and less rational. But with that being said, I'm sure nothing will stop you from opening this business!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11