Getting My First Clients

in #life6 years ago (edited)

10258312_10152401378338711_7322362966602132164_o.jpg

Yesterday, as I was writing an article for my website, I asked myself, how long am I going to do this? Writing is not easy. Someday, I hope that someone else will do this for me. The good thing is that I'm not time-poor yet. I can still write 2 articles a day. I think I am pretty much doing a good job as I've already written some SEO articles to start with, and If I stay consistent, I might be able to keep up. I know my competitors around here. Most of them are established businesses and they dominate Google.

I enjoy this whole entrepreneurial journey however challenging. I try hard not to feel discouraged. At some point, I told myself that I'm going to pause my happiness until I get my first enquiry. Then yesterday, I got a new email message. I literally shouted with glee. This is yet another milestone. It gives me a slight hope that my efforts are not going in vain.

I was feeling stressed about some other things and people but when I got that first email, suddenly nothing else mattered. It was like when I was in a relationship, no matter how disappointed I was at my job or other people, I had someone to share the pain with. Everything was just a background.

The lady wrote to me that she likes the mission and sustainable ecotourism values of my company. She had already booked with some really posh resorts, like very expensive. She just wants me to design her itinerary. I think this means that I am starting to attract the right kind of clients. And I feel happy. These days, I prefer less work, more quality. Fewer people but more capable to pay extra for the exceptional service and proper salaries of people.

I know these are just the early days. There are still many ways that things can go wrong. However, I'm still full of hope that things will get better in time. The good thing about my chosen business is that it's kind of a low-risk investment with high returns. What did I put in here? Just a couple of bucks for my website and business permits. I didn't build a hotel and my office is at home. I don't have anyone working for me yet. I don't need to pay the salaries of staff yet. If I don't make money this month or the next month, I still have Steemit anyway. I just need to invest my time. If you are not time-poor, you can make things happen slowly.

I think that if you really want something, you will be really good at it. And if you are really good at something, eventually you'll get rich. And who does not want that kind of freedom? The freedom to move around, help the community, and live the life you deserve. The kind of life where you don't have to sacrifice your spirit working the job you hate. The kind of life where you no longer have to worry about the rent and food. You start going up the pyramid and focus on other needs. You'll have more choices in life.

Sure, I am not going to be magically rich overnight. All I want is to pay my debt, buy a patch of dirt, live a simple life away from everyone else and travel from time to time. Even if I do get rich, nobody will even notice it. I am used to having less and I'd rather spend my money on life experiences.

In a way, I feel like I have become ruthless. My misanthropic tendency kind of works in this game. Mind you, it's a battlefield around here. It is very competitive. I have to know who are my allies or those who will help me succeed. Those who will provide good service to my clients and live up to my vision. Then there are those who will try to ruin things for me. I can't remember how many times I've been disappointed with people. If I worry so much about what they think, I will probably be not at this point. If you really want to get ahead, you should stop impressing others and being agreeable - just be yourself.

So later, I will be meeting my first group. I really went out of my way to prepare everything and to make their whole trip personalized. The little details you know. I designed like a welcome sign where they have their names on it. I bought a birthday cake for the guy who is celebrating his birthday. I just hope I'll get good reviews after this trip. If I can make this right, then maybe, everything else will follow.

Sort:  

Congratulations, @diabolika!
Glad to know that. You are working hard for this. Best of luck!

So good to read this! Congratulations @diabolika :-) Now let's hope steemit will prove as resilient as you are after it's hardfork ;-)

Yup, I hope! Thank you!

Congrats on the clients, keep up the work and I am sure you will have many more!

If you really want to get ahead, you should stop impressing others and being agreeable - just be yourself.

I needed to hear this today. I'm challenged with removing myself from a "comfort" of not being concerned with being consistent and dedicated, by letting others dictate what is a smart, good, righteous, successful existence. It's terrifying and embarrassing to admit the avoidance for so long but the freedom it leads to, the ability to pursue these engaging causes that make sense to you... that's the beautiful life. As someone who has spent too long in the fearful shadow of possible failure, I want to let you know this journey you are sharing is having sincere impact.

I know these are just the early days. There are still many ways that things can go wrong. However, I'm still full of hope that things will get better in time.

This could be an intention for me to think upon while I'm putting in the time to build toward my larger goal. While my particular endeavor seems to be a bit more high risk than your current one, my determination about the importance of the contribution of my project is still a worthy reward.

Your "little things" for your first clients sound like great ways to personalize the experience, clearly what the client was seeking. Can't wait to hear about the reviews ;*

As someone who has spent too long in the fearful shadow of possible failure, I want to let you know this journey you are sharing is having sincere impact.

I am really glad that I am helping in some way! Mind you, I am really good at failing. I've lowered my expectations by now - nothing to lose. Can you imagine my happiness my I get little wins?

"Writing is not easy."

True but I find it is hard to explain that to people who don't write lol.

"So later, I will be meeting my first group."

Hey, that is great. Good luck. You seem to know what you want to do so I think things should go well.

Thank you. I really had a great time with them!

All energy is focused at one point, the flower. All the best for your business!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63295.30
ETH 3053.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70