Holding People Accountable

in #life5 years ago (edited)

action-2277292_640.jpg

Being an entrepreneur means being a leader. It means at times you have to be tough and learn how to hold people accountable. It's life's old rule - teach people how to treat you. But sometimes, it feels like less stress to just let things go and accept whatever there is or even just to do everything yourself. I always hear the most annoying advice around here - just lower my expectations. Sure, it's the way not to get trapped in disappointment. But it's also like accepting everything as low standard. When it comes to business, it's just not possible. I think it's normal that I have high expectations. Everything should be done as I expect it because I just know exactly what I want or what my clients want. My goals are clear, and if they are not going to happen, I will find someone else who shares the same passion. All or nothing.

Finding the right people in a place where it seems impossible is the hardest thing. This is one of the challenges I face right now as an entrepreneur. Apparently, people make a big chunk of my startup. I am not selling a tangible product here, I'm selling services. People serve other people. It means dealing with other people, whether my contractors or clients.

Honestly, I also find it hard to have a tough conversation or call out people on their broken promises, failure to deliver, lack of punctuality and professionalism. A part of me still wants to be agreeable or does not want to disappoint people. However, real leaders are not here to impress. I am in a community where people seem to be perpetually slack, late or just plain unreliable. It's a challenge because I am trying to change the game and establish something new here, like setting a standard. People can easily dislike me. But love me or hate me. I just don't want to just exist and break even. I want to be bigger than I am so I can help myself, others and pursue my other passion. But, it's just difficult to push through when you are surrounded by people who are content with everything.

Not that there's something wrong with being content and grateful for what you have and what you get, these people are generally happy. I guess I'm just someone who wants more out of life in order to be happier. And it does not necessarily mean buying or consuming more, it's more about getting extraordinary life moments and things that will help me get those unique experiences. I love the simple joys of domestic living at the moment but I don't want to stagnate. I'm passionate about everything that life can offer.

So, if I want to succeed in my endeavors, I need people who want the same in life. People who are driven and ambitious. And this is my dilemma right now. I am aware that disappointment is part of the game and sometimes the only way is to lower my expectations. But this is just unacceptable as an entrepreneur, having a business means having expectations. I find myself being a tyrant these days saying - if you don't do as I say, this is going to happen, or you'll lose business with me. And if you do this, you will be rewarded greatly. Plain and simple. I think this is the way to hold people accountable, being clear and honest about what I want.

Life has been different when I'm the one managing and controlling my own business. It's all up to me now, the burden of freedom. I have to be the change I want to see. For example, when I say that I will be at this place at this time, I will make sure that I will be there in no time. I just try to show people that when it comes to commitments, it's about honoring my word and refusing to tolerate any less from others. Dealing with those who are unreliable and irresponsible will not just undermine my influence, reputation, and integrity, it will also impact everything around me. It's a domino effect.

Whenever I meet someone who does not value my time and promises are treated cheaply, I will either make the change or choose an exit plan. Most likely, I no longer want to deal with this person. It's not easy to start over and find a replacement. But I think it's worth to try looking, think of all those great people I'm missing out on. It's easier to find friends around here to chitchat about the mundane of rural life but what I need is to have those passionate people who will contribute to the achievement of my goals.

I've lost count of times I've expressed frustration with the people around here and I'm tired of being let down. This is no longer about making friends, it's a separate thing. I'm not afraid to lose those who are not worthy of my time and share of success. And I will not have any second doubts emphasizing exactly what I want and have an uncomfortable conversation with those who will work with me. I'm not afraid to say what they will get or not get if they don't follow things according to my vision.

If someone had let me down in business, a part of me wants to give the benefit of the doubt, like ask for some explanation or something as to why my expectations are unmet. However, most of the time I just let this person go. I've come to a point that I can easily see through people. It's like I know the deal. When I don't trust anymore, that's the end of everything. But, when I finally see people who are really good at what they do, I just know straight away. I don't want to let them go. And I know they are just out there.

Img Src: Pixabay

Sort:  

Competition in operators lets you cycle through them. Hopefully you'll find a good one before you run out. Somebody with vision too. A new young operator?

Yes, I am searching.

giphy.gif

if you have perseverance + passion + brave heart on what you're doing, your a born leader. Thanks for sharing this, it motivates me to pursue my passion. <3

Development of physical and mental ability to become a captain is very important

Very good written you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56