I choose to be imperfect and let myself be.

in #life7 years ago

I'm not anything that I wanted to be. Since childhood, we have created an ideal about life, about what personality we will have, about what job, plus other small details that fill the whole picture.



I do not know why, but I always imagined that I would be a remarkable business woman, elegant, diplomatic and above all, feminine and mature. I always imagined myself holding a glass of red wine and a cigarette while admiring the view seen from a big window of a 5 star hotel.

Men never caught my attention too much. I saw myself having small romances, but never to let them stand in my way. Destination? I have no idea. It seems that my dream had a gap.



Now, when I look at other kids, I notice that I was different from what I thought. Our image about ourselves is often distorted. For example, recently I met two girls during a visit. At the end of the day they kept hugging me and did not allow me to leave. On the way home, I realized that I never did that. I did not hug people, did not tell them that I like them, nor compliment them and I always kept a certain distance. Perhaps I had a pretty big ego since childhood, which I realize only now, in my shortcut to adulthood.



Hmm, no. I'm not a remarkable businesswoman. Maybe I'll become, at least that's the plan. My femininity is usually overshadowed by clumsiness. Instead of winning your heart with a look, I will rather make you laugh or smile. I can't always control myself, nor always act diplomatically. Instead of requiring respect, I would rather make you say "uu that cute little thing." It always seemed like people were not taking me seriously, so I tried to turn from a little baby into a strong character.



I did not become selfish, but I became proud. I do not mind easy, but when I get upset woe is you.

I tried to be perfect all my life, but slowly I'm starting to settle down. Begin to accept me as I am. Instead of trying to get my defense when I'm wrong or mime victory, I learn to say "I am imperfect."

I do this for the fear that I will not enjoy life as I should. That I'm forgetting to enjoy the small things or be relaxed. The run for perfection brings tension and makes you not look around.


In addition, when you're looking too much for perfection, you begin to criticize others greatly. You see your own faults in them.

Instead, when you start to realize that you do not have to be perfect and that the beauty of man stays in his imperfection, then you will learn to accept and love others as they are. You will not play any role, you will be you. You'll feel more relaxed and fulfilled by simply being you.



No, I do not speak from experience. But this is the solution I have reached. I have been in a long inner struggle. I realize that there's something wrong with us as we become robots, we lose identity and we love less and less. Everything starts from us, our inner peace influences our relationships with others and how we view the world.


Our mission on earth is not only to work and display a certain image to others. We live only once and it seems like we do not enjoy life as much as we should. We focus too much attention on other things that seem important now, but in old age when you only have a few moments to live, they become so insignificant...



Do you acknowledge that you're imperfect? Do you love yourself just as you are?


Image links: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6


Don't forget to follow for more!

Sort:  

hi there - this is a beautiful article - I don't know how many times I have stood at the window looking out just like the lady in the photo - pondering exactly the same notions that you raised :) well done

Thank you, @badassunicorn !! :) I'm glad that you liked it.

1 . Do you acknowledge that you're imperfect?

  • YES

2 . Do you love yourself just as you are?

  • YES, but that doesn't mean that I would be always happy about all my characteristics ...

I think it's perfectly normal to not be happy about your bad sides. But it means a lot if you accept them. Of course, you have to do your best, that meaning good decisions and trying not to harm anyone in your path.

Hello, congratulations I understood or at least I did my best even I know fe English. I like it. I am new here.

Saludos desde Venezuela

Thank you and welcome!

Really love your articles. They are so unique and have so much positivity in them. I really hope you can find more time to post often. Steemit needs you ;)

Thank you, @sauravrungta!! I'm really glad to hear that you like them! Whenever I have the time, I'll stop by and write my thoughts and stories. :)

Now this is how you make a grand entrance after being away for a little while! You are a really talented writer. And like I have always said, you are wise beyond your years. It took me 45 years to come to the conclusion you have reached in nearly half that time. I am super imperfect... and damn proud of it! Being "perfect" takes too much energy away from what is truly important.

Here's my versions of my ephiphany :

https://steemit.com/family/@hanshotfirst/making-perfect-better

Thank you, @hanshotfirst!!! I don't know if I'm wise or I am just overthinking about everything. haha :D. But your compliments always make me feel good. Thanks for reading and appreciating it!


Hi @diana.catherine, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75