I got a part time job that pays in SBD!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I haven't been posting as much lately because I have been busy doing other life type things. One of them being working at the ceramics studio of @natureofbeing and @greyhawk.


Dr2.jpg
The doctor is in..

It all started about a month ago when I went to my first Portland steem meet-up. It was great to meet other steemians in person. Talking with @natureofbeing, I realized that we actually are within two blocks of each other on an almost daily basis. Small world!

Shortly after our meet up, she made a post about all of the ceramic work she is doing and it looked like a lot of work. So I asked if she needed any help and in fact she did! We met again and it seemed like a good fit.

The topic of payment came up and @natureofbeing offered one option of being paid in SBD and that intrigued me. I figured since we met through steem, It seems only right to make this a full steem affair and get paid with SBD.

steam-train.gif

So now I am sanding ceramic tiles for SBD. It is not neurosurgery to say the least, but it is kinda meditative and I am enjoying it. Here is my sanding station with some tiles drying in their molds in the background.

shop2.jpg
I feel like Tony Montana sitting here...

The studio does this production line of tiles as well as other more creative art inspired works.

shop1.jpg
@greyhawk working on more tiles...and more tiles.....

tiles divider.jpg

Some cool mandalas and tea cups
wall.jpg
Sorry for the blur...

We have worked out a deal where on a given day, like the first of the month we take the market price of SBD and apply that to the money I have earned sanding tiles. So if I made $20 and the price of SBD is $2... Then I get 10 SBD with the option to change payment options later.

While the price of SBD is low, I feel like this could be a good thing and I am interested in seeing how it all pans out. I think it is incredibly cool that this all happened because of steem. This is not even a super crazy story. So many steemians are doing great things just by interacting with each other on steemit. Do you find yourself doing something you would have never imagined because of steemit? How has steemit changed your life?

So that is what I have been up to... Thanks for reading everybody and as always...

Keep being Cool Steemit!


doctorcrypto.gif

Sort:  

whoohooo!! nice post @doctorcrypto and it's such a pleasure to have you in the studio and your help is invaluable. Really amazing when steemit steps out of the computer into daily life isn't it :-)

It truly is! Thanks for having me. :)

That's great, @doctorcrypto! It's so neat how the Portland meetup led to such good things. I"m glad you have a mask for that work! : )

Safety 3rd! er... I mean 1st.
I can imagine breathing that fine dust over time could lead to mud lung. I just made that condition up, but it seems fitting. :)

Don't be the first report in the medical literature for Mud Lung! =:O

That is fricking awesome. “I will take my paycheck in Steem please.”

Super cool to find fellow Steemians close by. I’m over near the Tri-cities WA will be heading over to Portland area in a week or so.
CHEERS!!

PNW represent! If you want to get together for a beer hit me up. :)

For sure, I will see what I can do, I will be hooked up to a trailer because I’m moving my father in law and all his stuff.
He just loaded all his stuff in his Ford Explorer and anything else will go on my flatbed truck.
I will keep you posted, thanks for the invite 👍🏻👍🏻

That's really cool; but the fluctuations should be a hassle... in a long run hopefully you gain 🤞🍀👏

I think we all gain by meeting new steemians and interacting.
Money is nice too. :)

This is exactly how sbd will be adopted by the masses. In small incremental steps. As people grow to realise it is a store of value.
A great story. Resteemed.

Thank you sir!
I hope I'm starting a trend then. :)

Have you checked out steemgigs?

Yes! There are all sorts of gigs in there. I've done a few graphics ones.

Awesome story !

Steemit got me into messing with images ( photo bombing and meme creating ) which is fun.

Edit : I am not sure why but sometimes Steemit won't let me upvote .. This is one of those times. My upvote isn't worth anything yet anyways.

I think you can't vote because it has been 7 days. No more payout :(

My upvote isn't worth squat anyways. One day it will .. and on that day I will spam you with some upvotes :)

I thinks its very cool you found work paying in steem. A step in the right direction for the crypto world.

Love it! trust you to find my dream job (which is anything where I get paid in crypto :) )...looks like fun though as well, so I'm double jealous hehe

That sounds like a very cool job and an intriguing exchange for on-site labor.

i have met with several complete strangers because of steem. stayed in there homes without even known them ahead. it felt natural...though to those not in steemit world...seems strange and perhaps dangerous. haha. living on the edge...steemit stylee

I love it!
I was able to make a short presentation at the first Hanoi Steem it meet-up in Vietnam. Crazy!
the whole group.jpg

You are both an inspiration!

I guess if you like things smooth, I could be inspirational. Haha.
Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73