UH NO. Been Playing UNO Wrong...

in #life6 years ago

Draw 12 sucker! ... Nah!


Do you remember the childhood card game UNO?!

Each player receives 7 playing cards and one card gets put out as an opening card. You go around in a circle, taking turns, putting down a number card of the same colour, or an alternate colour of the same number value. Simple right? Add +2 (Draw 2) and +4 (Draw 4), still no worries.

You're cruising along and then someone slams you with a Draw 4. Oh no! But then BAM you slam another Draw 4 ontop and before you know it, the player next to you is sweating pellets as he prepares to pick up 8 cards. No? DOUBLE BAM slams another ontop and we're up to Draw 12 to the unfortunate sucker that started it all (assuming 3 players).

But what if I told you that this is incorrect? This isn't actually how the game works? You're all thinking nahhhh @dolladu you're full of rubbish, you're drunk, go home. Well in fact I came across this little snippet of the one person in the world that actually decided to read the rules. It speaks for itself. Enjoy, and prepare to play UNO, the correct way!

Correct way in summary;

  • Can only play Draw 4 when no other card in your hand is able to be played.
  • If you suspect someone of 'illegally' playing Draw 4 you can call them out.
  • The player in question must show deck to prove 'legally' playing card.
  • If illegal; THEY must draw 4
  • If legal; the player that accused must Draw 6

Never played UNO this way. Can't wait to try it out and play a childhood classic, the correct way!

Sort:  

🗅

I'll shuffle the deck next game @garudi. Then we'll see who will be skipping who! 😜

When this crossed my feed earlier I discovered I've had rules lawyer leanings since I was quite young. I've always known the requirements on when you can play a draw 4.

We never used the stacking draw cards until much later and I assume it's a house rule that's become quite commonplace to improve the enjoyment of the game

Well there you have it!

My upbringing was very mathamatical so I had no problems slammin' the 4 times table on those mofos 😜

Oh I had a very mathematical upbringing too. Studied math right through to 2nd year uni before changing path to eventually be pure computing. But I've always been about learning the rules, and playing by them, unless the rules themselves are broken and need adjustment to make the game actually work! Sometimes house rules are better than the actual rules too, but I assumed everyone started playing by learning the rules as written and adapted from there.

I think I do remember doing this as a kid, maybe. But the other way is more enjoyable (providing you're not hit with the 8 or 12) :)

Really?! Duuuude, I never came across anyone that actually played it this way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65821.61
ETH 3008.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74