You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pondering the Challenges of Life: Being FIRST vs. Being BEST

in #life6 years ago

I enjoy your work specifically because it is usually of the “evergreen” variety and just as applicable to my life whether you click “post” today or a month from now.

I would say in addition to “fastest”, the advantage often goes to the “biggest”, as I’m reminded of the experiment Stephen King did where he published two books at the same time: one under his name and the other under a pseudonym. The one without his name on the spine flopped. So even if you have quality and speed, if you don’t have size or influence, that can be yet another headwind.

Sort:  

Appreciate your kind words! I guess I value a certain "timelessness" in content... perhaps the result of having written for many online magazines for many years.

You Stephen King story bears out the assertion many make that "the rich get richer," not necessarily through talent or skill, but simply as a result of being "someone." We see that here on Steemit, as well...people bring their 100,000 followers from YouTube and immediately have $100 posts here. But I guess we have to view that in the context of them already "having paid their dues."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90