20 questions with @wadepaterson (The Steemian Series)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

wade 1.jpg

One of the best blogs on Steemit belongs to @wadepaterson. In my opinion, his 20 Questions posts are a "must read" series and I always look forward to discovering who he'll interview next. This series of posts has given us a closer look at many prominent members of the Steem community.

Wade also has reached out to a number of influential figures outside Steemit, publishing their 20 Questions interviews as well. In doing so, he has helped publicize the platform and provided an example of its high quality content. People have come here to read his interviews (with people they follow) and they have stayed to become long term Steemit users.

Recently, I contacted Wade to see if he'd let me interview him in the 20 Questions format. He graciously agreed (as long as he could question me also - that 20 Questions post is now on his blog). SBD proceeds from this post will be donated to the @communitycoin address, which is fundraising for a community curation SMT project.

And here, in his own words, is the Question Man himself!

20 questions with @wadepaterson

wade 2.jpg

1 - Can you tell us something about yourself?

@wadepaterson - I strongly dislike the touch of velvet. It’s like nails on a chalkboard for me.

2 - How did you find Steemit?

@wadepaterson - A co-worker of mine has been in interested cryptocurrency for several years. He noticed Steem’s value skyrocket in July 2016. He did a bit of research and, once he understood what the platform was about, he encouraged me to join because he knew I was passionate about writing. I was highly skeptical about Steemit for the first month or so. But eventually I settled in.

3 - You’ve been here since July 2016, which seems like an eternity in the cryptocurrency space. What are your thoughts on what you’ve seen during that time?

@wadepaterson - A ground-breaking concept has experienced growing pains, drama and retention issues, while a number of good, intelligent people creatively work on ways to improve the experience for everyone. Steemit isn’t perfect, but what’s happening behind the scenes is incredibly special.

wade 3.png

4 - Some of your earliest blog posts referenced your time as a newspaper reporter in Kelowna, BC. How did that experience prepare you to write content for this platform?

@wadepaterson - As a reporter, you’re forced to hunt down story ideas since the paper is published on a regular basis, and content is needed to fill the pages. That background has helped me tap into my creativity to avoid writer’s block.

The fact I love interviewing people and asking questions has also come in handy; people seem to like the “20 questions” interviews I post.

5 - What does the future look like for traditional news media? What advice would you give to the owner of a newspaper today?

@wadepaterson - Like many industries, traditional reporting is being disrupted. Over the past decade, this has caused newspapers to re-examine their revenue models and shift their focus to digital.

My advice would be to skate to where the puck is going, not where it has been. (Can you tell I’m Canadian?) @donkeypong wrote a brilliant futuristic fictional piece about Smart Media Tokens saving a daily newspaper from closing. I think independent journalists are already finding some success on Steemit, and there is still a massive opportunity for more to join the space.

6 - Best thing you’ve seen on Steemit?

@wadepaterson - @neilstrauss’s unedited, raw versions of articles he’s written over the years. That sort of quality writing is the breath of fresh air Steemit has desperately been looking for.

7 - Worst thing you’ve seen on Steemit?

@wadepaterson - Steemians who focus on quantity over quality. It also bugs me when people 100% upvote their own, lame, two-word comments.

8 - Recently, you wrote about going to a wedding where you were identified as a cryptocurrency expert. I had a similar experience just last week. Suddenly, friends and family who had no interest in this before have been asking about Bitcoin, Ethereum, and any hot tips on new ICOs and projects. What does it mean?

@wadepaterson - It means that what was previously a geeky, quasi-taboo subject has become mainstream and an increasing number of people are experiencing a heightened FOMO. To be clear, I’m not an expert on crypto and I find it hilarious that someone would identify me as such. But, considering this whole thing is still in its infancy, I guess, someday, 2016 will be considered very close to the beginning.

wade4.png

9 - What improvements do we still need to see in the cryptocurrency infrastructure (or are you optimistic that normal people will be patient enough to use what we have now)?

@wadepaterson - For the average person who is brand new to cryptocurrency, a lot of this stuff is still pretty confusing and inconvenient. I don’t think mass adoption will occur until cryptocurrency is as easy (or easier) to use than any other forms of currency. I think there is a huge educational hurdle that most people need to jump over as well. More and more of my friends are getting interested in crypto, but the majority still have no clue what Bitcoin actually is.

10 - You also have published a novel on Steemit. What did you learn through that process?

@wadepaterson - I wrote The Popular Depression when I was 18 years old. At the time, I tried to get it published the traditional way, but, to be blunt, I didn’t stand a chance.

The fact that Steemit empowered me to publish my first novel (and receive monetary compensation for my work) is a huge deal. I can’t wait to see what that actual Steem/SBD value (that I earned from publishing every chapter of The Popular Depression) is worth two or three years from now. My prediction is that it will be worth much, much more than what I ever could’ve received through traditional publishing.

11 - You recently surpassed 1,500 followers on Steemit. How did it feel?

@wadepaterson - I’m honoured anyone would choose to let my content appear in their newsfeed. The fact 1,500 people are interested in keeping an eye on what I’m doing is incredible.

12 - Which members of the Steemit community have helped or inspired you?

@wadepaterson - There are a lot. And I hate the thought of missing anyone, so I’ll limit my answer to three people. But here’s the thing… if you’re thinking to yourself: “Hmm, I thought Wade might choose me…” trust me, you’re on my list. There are hundreds of people in this community who have positively impacted me.

@the-alien - Adil has been such a massive supporter of mine and he has made me feel connected to the Steemit community. He also seems to be involved with everything… I don’t know how he does it.

@heiditravels - Heidi could’ve easily said “no” when I asked to interview her in July 2016. But she did the interview and encouraged me to start my 20 questions series. She’s a good person.

@ned - Ned has received his share of praise and (more than his share of) criticism; I truly believe he is doing his best to steer this ship in the right direction.

13 - What marketing advice would you give to the folks at Steemit Inc., Busy, eSteem, and other Steem-powered businesses?

@wadepaterson - Invest in your marketing efforts and think outside the box. Steemit has so much potential, but it also has a bit of an identity crisis. Is it mostly about making money? Is it mostly about getting your foot in the cryptocurrency door via a user-friendly experience? Is it mostly about the community? Is it mostly about writing? Is it mostly about reading great content? I think the vision needs to be clear and then marketing dollars need to get that vision in front of the right audience.

Also, I believe the PR game needs to be stepped up. A PR manager could proactively pitch industry media, offering to coordinate interviews with Ned to speak on current events in the cryptocurrency world. A good example of this is the amount of media attention Ripple’s CEO Brad Garlinghouse received in December 2017. Cryptocurrency has the world’s attention right now… Steemit’s CEO should be capitalizing on that.

14 - Predict the price of Steem on July 1, 2018.

@wadepaterson - $21.64 USD (if I’m close, somebody owes me a beer)

wade 5.png

15 - Who are three people you would like to bring onto Steemit?

@wadepaterson -

Gary Vaynerchuk
Selena Gomez
Satoshi Nakamoto

16 - Aside from Steem, what other cryptocurrency projects do you find most interesting right now?

@wadepaterson - EOS, NEO, Cardano.

17 - Enough about cryptocurrencies. The lake in your area is home to a legend of cryptozoology with parallels to the Loch Ness Monster. Do you have any Ogopogo stories for us?

@wadepaterson - When I worked at Capital News, a reader contacted the newsroom claiming he had seen Ogopogo. He e-mailed me a video, which showed some mysterious shadows in the middle of the lake…

You never know!

wade6.jpg

18 - The Okanagan area also is famous for its fruit. Which fruit do you most look forward to eating, as the summertime approaches?

@wadepaterson - Grapes. Fermented grapes. OK fine… Merlot.

19 - Absinthe or Aquavit?

@wadepaterson - Rum.

20 - What are you looking forward to in the coming year?

@wadepaterson - SteemFest 3.


Check out some of @wadepaterson's previous "20 questions" interviews:

20 questions with @heiditravels
20 questions with @katecloud
20 questions with @manthostsakirid
20 questions with @blockchaingirl
20 questions with @piedpiper
20 questions with @stellabelle
20 questions with @budgetbucketlist
20 questions with @rogerkver
20 questions with @allasyummyfood
20 questions with @the-alien
20 questions with Janina Storace
20 questions with @mrs.steemit
20 questions with @andrarchy
20 questions with Scott Young
20 questions with Jesse Heiman
20 questions with @dragosroua
20 questions with Chelsea Dinsmore
20 questions with @sirwinchester
20 questions with Ludvig Sunström
20 questions with Kyle Eschenroeder
20 questions with @roelandp
20 questions with Tim Brownson
20 questions with Sean Ogle
20 questions with Henri Junttila
20 questions with Hal Johnson
20 questions with Farnoosh Brock
20 questions with Manny Kess
20 questions with John Goehrke
20 questions with Sunny Lenarduzzi
20 questions with The Cranky Flier - Brett Snyder
20 questions with Shawn Murphy
20 questions with Leo Babauta
20 questions with Jacob Staudenmaier
20 questions with Steve Scott
20 questions with Stefan Hyttfors
20 questions with Zachery Ty Bryan
20 questions with Ryan Lancaster
20 questions with Richard Millington
20 questions with E-mail Prankster
20 questions with Joseph Raczynski
20 questions with Elan Gale
20 questions with @surfermarly
20 questions with @donkeypong

Sort:  

Beautiful .. well done
Best job interview .. stimulating
Thank you for sharing your initiative. It will be wonderful.

OMG I thought I was the only one that felt like that with velvet!

But Velvet just came back into style!!! All us ladies will be rocking it for the year, whoops!

and bell bottoms

Now if only we could get JNCOS to come back, then we could really have a repeat of 1995

You can skip the jelly shoes.

You are right dear......

Y'all look adorable! Such a cute couple, I'm sure my fiance would agree and we would get along great!

IMG_3230.jpg

i thought same like you :P @jsteem

The 20 question series has helped me a lot in igniting the spark of really working hard for my blog @wadepaterson and @donkeypong! This interview just made me realize that steemit platform is all about building connections of people. The best part of it is just to be thankful of those people that uplift and willing to help in crafting and creating quality content. Personally a lot of people has helped me but if I would answer it then it would be @jenessa for introducing steemit, @junababatuon who is my loving wife and @ankarlie whom trusted and resteem my post. Thank you so much, your works @wadepaterson and @donkeypong are worth emulating!

I'm glad it provided a good lesson for you. Helping others and building a network of good people on here is very important.

Ever thankful @donkeypong! I will always carry on by this lesson and spread it as much as I can in the steemit community! More power.!

Thanks to @donkeypong for coordinating this interview! These questions were thought-provoking, and it was a lot of fun to take a short trip down memory lane and see how far this platform has come in a year-and-a-half.

Thanks to everyone who took the time to read this as well!

It was fun. I'd encourage others to try the double interview idea also!

Thank's Brother,,you are Welcome... all the best.....@donkeypong

Great blog

How did you get so much SBD for this post ?
is it Bots ? or users ? or do you have so many friends here ? or a different reason ?

I am new on steemit.

  • What advice do you have for me to get to where you are at ?

I will appreciate your positive reply ;)
Marc

Honestly, I am so thrilled with the way he answer question 13. The first thing I struggled with when Steemit was introduced to me was the true purpose of the platform, as I only have a vague knowledge of cryptosystem. It took me three solid months to give in to this idea I won't even give a thought of leaving.
I do agree to investing in massive marketing so as educate the public this wonderful opportunity.
Wao! How will 20 Questions With Isaac sound.
I am @isaaceko

It takes a good three months to understand everything.

It sounds so crazy at first, because of my knowledge of Accounting and how banking system work. I think the bait he used to sell me into steemit was the idea of getting paid when I post my content. Instead of the Facebook unending likes that results to nothing; I get paid when Upvoted.
Thanks for the Upvote, and I'm following your every move on steemit. Where a Pro like you is; there's no letting go. Wink!
Cheers!
I am @isaaceko

I'm glad you found some value in my answer :)

Strategic marketing will definitely be an important piece of the puzzle, along with a strong PR plan.

Wao! @wadepaterson replied my comment. Now, I am feeling like a celebrity. I have always watched you from afar doing your thing. Here is the the biggest fan of your work.
I am @isaaceko

was in love with Steem in June 2017 when I first ran into and understood the concept as I was already interested in starting something like Steem back in 2011... Steem is Money Facebook

absolutely rigth! i love steem too

I don't know if Satoshi Nakamoto exists or not and I am not a big fan of Salena but yes Gary Vee should be on this platform.

I'm glad you asked about this question!

Reasoning:

  • Gary Vee is a marketing genius and he is incredibly influential. His presence here would bring a lot of people to the platform, and he'd likely be able to chime in on how he believes Steemit could market itself better.

  • Satoshi Nakamoto... I don't think much more reasoning is needed here.

  • Selena Gomez has more Instagram followers than any other user. Like her or not, she is one of the most influential social media icons, which means she would bring a huge audience with her.

Yes, I totally agree. Every person has his/her own charm and they can add to the community in their own way.
I don't know if someone has directly approached all of them or not?

the spirit and the idea from the Pandora Box of Satoshi can never die, V For Vendetta style

Excellent interview, I share your views on traditional media, they need to adapt to the new times or they are going to end up becoming like horses for transportation.... Any tips from wade for aspiring new writers?

My tip would be find your niche and then focus on quality of posts over quantity. With regard to success on Steemit... it takes time, and embedding yourself in the community is likely necessary to help you cut through the noise. Intelligent comments like this one you just posted will help get you noticed.

Thanks for the tips, i will keep on working on my quality and will keep on participating and interacting with the community as much as i can :-D

You'll have to ask him. I would say that if you post high quality content consistently and make new friends by helping others, then hopefully you will get more of a following for your writing. Feel free to experiment and try some different things, though!

Sounds easy but i am new here. Please i will like to learn from you.@donkeypong

I started following him earlier when you resteemed the interview he did to you, I'm sure I'll get a chance to ask him soon :-D I'm working to expand my content around to other areas to experiment with my writing and grow a lot as a writer :-D

Thanks for the follow :)

Beutyfull baground

@wadepaterson

Nice question for the Steemit managers. They jus have to do more awareness about their platform. It would be wise for them to do aggressive marketing and think outside the box.

Steemit has so much potential as you said.

@healthylife, steemit is a developing community like the developing nations. If you have been following #Utopia the guild that supports open source projects, number of suggestions are being filled daily to them which the community may use to develop rapidly.

And it is our responsibility as users of steemit that have benefited from this platform to help in publicizing it. That's why we do weekly meetups to introduce new members and users to the community.
IMG_20180120_145629.jpg

IMG-20180131-WA0044.jpg

I think those things will come once the development is ready.

Thanks for your comment!

Hopefully my answer didn't come across as bashing the Steemit Inc. team. They're doing a lot of great things... and yes, I believe marketing is on their roadmap. However, even at this point in time, I definitely see an opportunity from a PR perspective. I'd like to see Ned being featured in more crypto-related interviews to keep Steem top-of-mind.

@donkeypong, That's excellent interview I have ever seen. @wadepaterson gave awesome answer for all questions. Appreciated. I look some answers. Its so interesting and need to follow that. But why he need to bring Selena Gomez in steemit. What's the reason? Do you think it will be promote method?
Also EOS and cardano is very potential token. I'll check NEO.
I think all questions and answers need to re-read me and others coz more important contents indeed. Also fun indeed. This is a high valued top class post. Nice to decided you shared to us. Steemit showing massive growth. It's successful story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55