The Ocean's Gift

in #life6 years ago

I love to swim in the ocean when it's calm. I don't like being pounded by the waves so I learned to move out past the breakers and swim around in the gentle part of the ocean. If a wave does come along, I've learned to dive beneath its crest and avoid the turbulence.

One day I was at the beach with a friend. She didn't swim and was reluctant to go out much more than knee-deep in the water. Where we stood the waves were in full force, crashing into the shore, and us! I'm not very tall and some of those waves were pretty big. So every now and then the waves would knock me down and roll me around a little. It was exciting, of course, but also tiring and sometimes even a little painful.

01 breakers 2_ed.jpeg

I knew that all we had to do was go out a little further into the water, a little over waist-deep, and all the turbulence would be behind us. I urged her to come with me, just few feet further out where the water was calm.

02 ocean-woman_ed.jpg

This physical experience of the ocean and the waves also had a more symbolic meaning. At that time I happened to be experiencing a great deal of turbulence in my life. I could feel the waves crashing in on me and it seemed all I could do was to fight to stand upright.

In that place of turbulence we are knocked down and tumbled around. We hesitate, in fear and uncertainty, to move out in faith, to follow our guidance, our intuition. After all, it gets pretty deep out there and the ocean is vast. But if we move just a little further out, we find that the turbulence falls behind us and what is in front of us is peaceful, and even joyous! We can splash around and have fun, feeling the water all around us, gently supporting us.

A few days later when I was in meditation, I was visited by a spirit dolphin. “I'd like to show you something,” it said, and we went to the ocean together. I could see myself as I was that day at the beach with my friend.

03 dolphin_ed.jpg

“You were so pleased with yourself that you knew that you could enjoy the water more by moving past the waves. But what I see is that you made sure that you could always touch bottom. You never went out over your head.”

“Well, of course not!” I said.

“You are still playing in the shallows. There is so much more here for you to discover and enjoy.”

I saw again how I tried to encourage my friend to come with me that day – out a little further. I knew she would be safe and perhaps have more fun, but I also respected her choice to stay where she was. Now this dolphin spirit was playing that same role for me.

“Only out a little further. There's nothing to be afraid of. I'll be there to watch and help you. You'll like it, I promise.” My words to her were being said now, to me.

“Maybe next time,” I said, just as she had answered me.

04 ocean-2_ed.jpg

(Excerpted from my book: Collected Works: a book for the Eclectic Spirit.)

Sort:  

Theres something so spiritual about the ocean. Ive always loved water, whether it be ocean, lakes or swimming pools. Theres something so relaxing and peaceful about the water. The ebb and flow, high and low tides. I have some pretty irrational fears, as I like to call them. Things that I have dreamt about. And in those dreams I was so scared of the outcome but I would always muster up the strength and fight my way through, always coming out on the winning side. One of the dreams that always scared me the most and it was also reoccurring, was being at a ocean front condo, with my mom, sisters and nieces. Mom and sisters went somewhere, seemed so sudden, they were just gone, leaving myself and my nieces who were somewhere in between 5-8. All of a sudden, looking into the vast openness of the ocean, very similar to the last picture here, there was a huge wave, a tsunami, coming right for us. Not your regular tsunami, this was only one big ass wave, as tall as the condo we were in. And it was up to me to save my nieces. I started having this dream when I was around 14 or 15. Now I could just let this fear take over me, and be afraid of something that normally brings me complete peace and happiness but instead I take it as a warning, nothing more, nothing less. Ive always tried to protect those girls. And I feel that the wave is simply representing life in general. To make it through life, you simply have to continue to live it to the fullest. To make it through that massive wave in my dream, we only had to ride it out. We held on to each other for dear life and just floated as the waters rushed under us and we made it through. When the water receded, out comes my momma and sister, like nothing had happened. When I told them of the wave and what we had just went through, they simply looked at me and told me Im much stronger than I think I am and they knew I would take care of the girls. Its something that has stuck with me since then, the dream still plays in my mind vivid and clear. I can still picture the walls of the condo and the look on my nieces faces. Its something I still think about as I sit on the beach, watching the waves and instead of being afraid, I smile because I know Ill always win. Thanks for sharing this with us @donna-metcalfe!

Wow, that is a seriously awesome dream! And what a message from it. Thank you for sharing it, I hope other people read it too and feel the strength and courage you describe, because I sure did!

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Thank you for sharing your content with #theluvbug :)

This post has received a 100% upvote and a resteem. Be sure to share the news of @theluvbug with your blogging buddies - and remember to keep a look out for our daily posts where you can share your links :)

I AM

header.jpg

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62