My trip to CUBA

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians,

My name is Dominik, I am passionate about traveling. In this post, I am going to go through my 10 day trip to Cuba. This was my first time going to Cuba, I am from Croatia so it's kind of expensive to fly from Europe to Cuba. But I was in the USA so it is closer and a bit cheaper. My traveling companion was my girlfriend Agnesa, and on the next picture, you can see us drinking and cooling down with freshly squeezed mango juice.
IMG_6136.JPG
Next picture taken from my balcony where I stayed in the old town Havana, right before sea is famous road Malceon where Fast and furious 7 movie was filmed.
IMG_6132.JPG

This is a traditional food in Cuba: rice, chicken leg, batat (like a potato), avocado. The only meat that most people can afford to eat is chicken.
IMG_6177.JPG

The first day of our stay, our host and tour guide showed us Havana the capital of Cuba. One of the beautiful things was this Marina Hemingway. This Marina got the name by of a famous writer Ernest Hemingway because he was a regular in Cuba, he loved drinking rum and mojito, like a true Bohemian.
IMG_6202.JPG

Like every big city has its lungs, so Havana also has this huge park. There are two religions in this communist country, Christianity and Santeria. You all heard of Christianity, but Santeria is probably unknown to you. It is a religion where families bring sacrifices of animals, mostly chickens (they are most affordable). This woman on the picture is doing a ritual, so they bring chicken there and break their legs, pray and they kill it and after that, they spill its blood into a river. Our guide told us a story where Fidel Castro (former president of Cuba) during his stay in Africa killed an elephant and spilled its blood into a river.
IMG_6246.JPG

On next picture, you can see Ernesto Che Guevara's house. He is a most known revolutioner in the world. He and handful of people took control of Santa Clara (Cuban city). He was actually from Argentine but he came to Cuba to help Fidel Castro in his revolution against Batista. He was killed in Bolivia and buried in the city which he gave freedom; Santa Clara.

IMG_6416.JPG
Next day we had a trip to the countryside in a village Vinales. Best tobacco for Cuban cigars is grown there.
IMG_6457.JPG
In Vinales we had an hour horse ride, I did a couple of them in my life but this one was special. There was no one in front of a horse to lead his way. I had one horse, my girl had second and on the third one was our guide. Nature was fantastic, I am sorry that I don't have any photos of that.
IMG_6478.JPG
One of the most unforgettable experience was to take a shower under a natural waterfall. Yes, that is me under it, like a movie right?!
IMG_6548.JPG

Look how big this tree is!
IMG_6656.JPG

This building on the back is US embassy in Havana, and this poles in front is a Cuban protest, there is also stage there where Cubans come to protest against the USA weekly with loud music, dance, and whistles.

IMG_6756.JPG

When you walk through Cuba, any city or village, you feel like you are in a museum watching all those cars on the streets. Cubans have embargo to get new cars in Cuba, so they just fix the old Chevys and drive them, of course, they switched regular fuel engines for diesel.
IMG_6937.PNG

This is from Ernest Hemingway favorite bar; La Floridita. We had a mojito there of course.
IMG_7023.JPGIMG_7028.JPG

This is a mother of our host that was making us fresh mango juice every day and very tasty breakfast (fruits and omelet).
IMG_7092.JPG

We thought that this is where our trip is over, but we were unlucky with our return flight. Our plane got broken before getting in the air (at least it didn't have a chance to get broken in the air). So we got stuck in Cuban airport for extra 14 h. But on the side of that trip was fantastic and I would recommend Cuba for everyone.

Thank you for reading guys, I hope you liked it. Follow me for more reviews of my future trips. All photos are originals and taken with my iPhone.


Bez naslova.png
Made by - @doomsy

Sort:  

You are right, just like the movie... I am jelly that you were under the waterfall :) May I ask how much did it cost for the trip, I want to visit Cuba in next couple of years it's just so magical, so "naturey"

My trip was about 1000$ From airplane ticket (From Usa to Cuba) over housing and living expenses to souvienirs. For 10 days of Cuba.

Yea definitely will be in a couple of years, more like 5-10 LOL

Great post. I would love to visit Cuba, everything is so colorful. I'm a Fidel fan 😅

Thank you, Cuba is amazing in many ways. You should definitely visit it someday.

It looks like you really had a great time and those photos look amazing!

Thank you, photos are just a small piece of a great time I had there.

OOOH Cuba, I'm so sad I wasn't there when Fidel was there.. But, one day I will go...

Well its kind of the same with his brother Raul, I mean on the politics side. But Fidel was closer to the people , at least Cuban people describe him like that.

I really want to go to Cuba before I die.

I am a huge fan of Che. Not so much because of his politics as the ride he took around South America. Motorcycle Chronicles.

Thanks for a great post.

Yeah Che was someone , and he will always be a simbol of revolution and freedom. I'am glad you like it.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 18:44:36
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 20.20/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by doomsy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59