Hel-kom strikes again...!

in #life6 years ago

So for those of you who are wondering what Hel-kom is, it is actually spelt Telkom and it is one of the biggest ADSL/internet providers in South Africa. Now one would think that after being in the game so long and having so many clients, their systems would work properly.

image.png
Image credit

This is generally what the inside of telkom shops look like. Long lines of people, waiting to get help... but the only reason why the lines are so long is; as you can see in this bottom picture, there is just no one there...


Image credit

If you have ever called telkom services, you might find yourself in the grave before you actually get through.


Image credit

The biggest issue is not the fact that their "help" service is bad, but the fact that you have to use it for the most absolutely retarded and simplest problems.

I regrettably took out a data contract with them to get better internet, this was done to try keep my sanity while on the internet at home(steemit). For a while it worked so wonderfully, things that took me 20-40 min to do now took 10min. I was so happy, but after the first month there was no debit order taken off. The second month came and they only put the order in 5 days before it had to go off. This happened and they got their money... but 3 days later my internet got suspended for "not paying". My mother then went in that day to go and fix the issue... spent more than 3hours with their different departments to try and fix the billing problem. You would think after 2 days this would be fixed... well that was expecting way too much.

I got a bill with all the months added up... I went to the store to figure out what was going on and they didn't even have the bill I had received from them on their system. After getting home I decided to go online to the My Telkom website to hopefully log a complaint and seek help... it is now another 2 days later and they haven't even opened the submitted log.

Now how on earth can something go so wrong... I did accounting at school and just can't seem to understand how the payment made disappeared. Yet it was payed with the exact reference and code that the contract has, also they are the ones who sent the debit order. So I decided to have a look at their system and how it all links up and works, it was quite educational and I think it is a perfect system... I guess the people which are actually managing the system and putting in the information are either really stupid or they should never have gotten the job as they lack the skills required... I know 14 year-olds who would be able to do that job and actually get it right.

But hey this is the "new" "improved" South Africa, where we get jobs based on "BEE" and "status" and not the actual experience, skills, or knowledge we have. It is no wonder all the people are leaving... I guess they can see how this ship is sinking and fast. Telkom is not the only big major company that is suffering, almost all are.

Sort:  

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

I guess the people which are actually managing the system and putting in the information are either really stupid or they should never have gotten the job as they lack the skills required.
It should be people who instead of people which.

Man I'm sorry to hear that.😢
It really sucks that third world countries are ill-equipped like this:(
Hang in there sweetheart!💝
I'm looking forward to see your new article on the updated ghost town😻 xxxx

I'll have that one out today as I have some time to do a bit of research

Come to the expensive dark side! I use Vodacom and yes the internet is expensive, but never had any problems so far.

Well I now have a 24 month contract with them... I am stick

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

It's a shame to know that even there the internet works so bad, here in my country is so or even worse the internet is too slow and usually are always falling the lines :(

Here even when it works it is very slow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88