The Rat Race

in #life6 years ago

Are we all doomed to the never ending fact that; some of us will never get out of the "Loop" or as some people call it "The Rat Race"? How many of us had a dream, a passion for something awesome, but due to "life" we have given up on that dream?


Image credit

As we grow older we start to realise that some of our dreams are not reachable, we will never become an amazing singer or an astronaut. The more we drift away from our dreams we start to fall into the trap of life, where the default routines bring us into following a path that we would not choose.


Image credit

Soon we find ourselves chasing subjects at school that will bring us closer to our "dream job", but sadly this dream job is not based upon our opinion and views, but is influenced by our family, friends and even the people around us. We are also then persuaded to "play it safe" to go and do whatever everyone else is doing, keeping to the norm.


Image credit

Don't listen to other people most of them are still stuck in the rat race and will probably stay there. Those who are through the rat race will tell you that doing something different is not easy, but it is worth it. Taking risks and challenging the norm will keep you from getting into the same old dull routine. You don't have to go do something that will change the world, but do something that will change your world. Try something different, you are the only one who has control of what you will do next, everyone has the ability to choose. This doesn't mean that you will make all the right choices all the time, but it is okay to fail, fail beautifully when the chance comes your way and learn from it.


Image credit

Happiness is a choice not a destination, don't fall into the rat race for your happiness.

Sort:  

hey you must try this they are offering free 30 days upvote service for limited time. i am using it for 2 weeks, They upvote my every new post Click here to see the offer

Very good advice, especially if you have not entered the rat race yet. It is so hard to do what you love and still make a living out of it. I love music and art, but I am doing the opposite (which I started loving too), kind of sad how life works in our society today. (ESPECIALLY IN SA)

Well hopefully things will change.

Into the point. I, too, often think about this. And I'm glad I was lucky enough to get out of this vicious circle of endless race.

Other people - the ones still caught in the rat race - always try to bring you down to their level. I'm always surprised when I see the spiteful look in their eye. A guy I know once went 'I can't wait for you to get a real job'...I almost burst out laughing - why, so I can be as miserable as you are now?
But I agree with you, it's a choice, being happy and staying out of the rat race. not always an easy one, but that doesn't justify enslaving ourselves.

I also have had many of those comments from people, good for you for wanting to laugh. I would of :D

This brings me to how surprising it is for people to enjoy idleness and still go ahead to make others believe that laziness is best for them too. I agree with this post that so many people derive pleasure in seeing everyone stuck just like they are in the rat race.

Success is actually finding out that you are stuck and making efforts no matter the worth to get out. This post is valuable.

Well laid out post.

Its hard to see friends that have been true free spirits in their youth, fall prey to societies tricks. Its all about the promise of security, thats how they try to get you. I know it well from family members, that are worried about my future. "Oh but you need a retirement fund" "Dont you want to save money for your kids?" All that...
we have to stay sharp ;)

Well said dude! Luckily for me, Steemit happened before I could enter the rat race. It gave me time to sit back and reflect upon how life works, the matrix we live in and stuff. This is allowing me to do what I love and earn for sustaining myself too and not really pushing me to enter the rat race.
Much love from India! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84