Is your Self-investment enough to cover your Potential future?

in #life6 years ago

As someone who is absolutely obsessed with cryptocurrencies, I am looking forward to the future. My friends and I are constantly watching the market, while desperately trying to cling on to common sense. With the massive dips in the market, the temptation to take advantage of good deals, can sometimes cloud our rational thinking. I find myself constantly having to remind myself of upcoming financial responsibilities, that take precedence over investing. My friends and I are constantly on the lookout for opportunities to earn a few extra bucks, that in turn we can invest into the market.

Recently my friend told me a story, that reminded me of the importance, of developing good financial habits early. He too is heavily invested in cryptocurrencies. Having worked a ridiculous amount of hours, just to obtain a few extra hundred bucks to invest. Through sheer commitment, he has been able to create a modest portfolio in just under a year. Not a day goes by where we don't talk about cryptocurrencies in some way, shape or form. Our other friends think we are obsessed.

Yet despite my friend's massive efforts to accumulate wealth. He recently did something, that in my opinion, exposed massive flaw in his thinking. He recently made a choice, that seriously endangered the likelihood of him accomplishing his goals. His dream is to accumulate enough wealth, to allow him to hire employees for his small business. This would allow him to regain his time, something that he desperately desires. Yet as many of us have done. Just as the market is rising, and he is closer than ever to his goal. He allowed himself to make a poor financial decision.

He and his wife visited a designer furniture store a few days ago. Originally they were only going to look and not purchase. Yet as the sales people show them around the floor, and explained the different financing options. My friend eventually agreed to refurnish his entire house. Before entering the store, my friend was closer than ever to achieving his dream of obtaining free time. Yet in under an hour, he made a decision that would extend his financial enslavement for an unpredictable amount of time.

Just when he was closer than ever, to being able to pay off his debt. In a moment of heightened emotion, he made a decision that would increase his debt by $10,000. When I questioned his thinking, he explained that his wife signed for it. Yet anyone that understands financial principles would acknowledge, that a couple's finances are tied together. When one spouse acquires debt the entire household aquires it.

When I asked him if he voiced his opinion. He explained that she told him that she deserved it, but what was it that she deserved. They both work very hard, and her decision did not just affect her. Did they both really deserve having additional years added to their financial bondage. Had they only waited a year, they might have been able to buy the furniture cash.

I pleaded with him, to step in and undo the decision. Yet the prospect of having to face the embarrassment of canceling an order, and the argument that would ensue with his wife seems unbearable to him. He now preferred to maintain his ego, and face the added years of enslavement. Yet my friend is not the only one that has made these types of decisions. I've met several other people, that after a year of working on their finances. They had lowered their debt, and we're almost debt-free. Yet in a moment of relapse, found it impossible to resist the need to take a vacation. Having now fully giving into their desires, they were then overcome by the need to redo their kitchen. which then led to a new desire and of redoing their living room. In less than 2 months time they had return themselves to the original amount of financial enslavement. In fact due to bickering among the couples, they were now and even debt.

This is why it is important to establish a strong financial mindset, while still in the process of accumulating wealth. We have to remember that we are only human, and therefore we need to protect ourselves from our own impulsive nature. By taking the time to write down our goals, and committing to a plan. We create safeguards to protect us, from ourselves. An increase wealth does not guarantee financial freedom.

0228131307a.jpg

Developing good financial habits, while our wealth is still small, can ensure our ability to maintain higher levels of wealth. It is for this very reason that lottery commercials rarely show previous winners. In most cases people who win the lottery, not only go broke a few years later. They often times find themselves in even worse conditions. It was Benjamin Franklin that said," If a man empties his purse into his head, no man can take it away from him." As we continue to invest, and support the growing cryptocurrency industry. Let's not forget about the importance of investing in our own capabilities. A small investment in our own development, will prove more profitable, then even the best performing cryptocurrency. Let's not be like the bodybuilder who invest all his time and effort in improving his upper body, yet completely ignores his lower body.

Thank you for taking the time to share with me. I wish you much success in all your endeavors. God bless

Sort:  

This is very true. Very true. I am trying my best out here too... but it is not easy. Thanks for the insight and motivation.

No thank you for stopping by. Whatever I write something, I usually write it for myself. Sometimes I learn more from my own post then I think others do from reading it. Lol

LOL. I feel the same way sometimes.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dreamingirwin from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Normally buying a luxury car in my country is complicated, but with the cryptocurrency market opens the doors to one

That's awesome, and as long as you follow strong financial principles. You'll be able to purchase it, and love every minute of having it. :)

A big hello friend it seems very good that you and your friends decide to invest in the market of cryptocurrencies, if it is true that the market is not very high but you have to take advantage of this low to decide where to invest and to buy greetings I hope be very successful like your friends!

Thank you. I wish you much success also
:)

haha I understand you when you say with "common sense" with respect to despair because the btc down, it has happened to me constantly

Those prices were creating such an intense anxiety in me. I so desperately wanted to keep buying. Anyone that purchased between Monday and Tuesday last week got such super amazing deals.

@dreamingirwin, there are serious lessons to be learned. It reminds me of a friend of mine who once went to "look" at furniture and came really close to pulling the trigger on a $3000 couch. Just as he was about to pay, he remembered the principles he learned with being financially fit and decided that he didn't want to be held hostage by a piece of furniture. He left the store and never looked back. Life is truly a series of choices.

you have to be patient with this ups and downs of the market

I understand, but what that last dip those prices look so nice. I was going nuts trying to find money for them. While still having the money to pay my normal bills. Lol. But those prices were enchanting. :)

I agree with you.

Well thank you lol

excellent publication and the only thing that they have been able to advise me is patience. greeting

The problem is our human nature begins to go and patient, we look at everything we've done and begin to feel that we should be farther ahead. Then lifetime says to make a compromise, and if we're not grounded will take the compromise. At the moment we compromised, we lose the joy the victory. Oftentimes forcing us to restart from a much farther location.

Saw the sky, saw the river, saw many stars .. today and steemite who are my real friends ... !! @monirol-islam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71227.76
ETH 3816.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43