My second day of training followed by an unforeseen chain of events

in #life6 years ago (edited)

True story.....

The day actually started off nicely. I woke up few minutes before my alarm sounded, and found myself jumping out of bed energetically. It was my second day of training, and I was feeling blessed. The job was only temporary, but I was feeling optimistic about what doors it might open up for me in the future. Not only was this my first non restaurant job, but it was also the highest paying job I'd ever been given. Not to mention that it was the first job, where I was not required to wear a uniform.

After a nice shower, a good shave, and a few dabs cologne. I found myself staring at the mirror, smiling from ear-to-ear. The clothes I had picked out the night before, were neatly folded on the dresser beside me. In record time, I was dressed and heading for the door.
The medium size, black polyester carry-bag, which had been assigned to me during yesterday's training, was eagerly waiting for me on the sofa with its matching black strap dangling towards the floor. The perfectly white iron-on label, bearing the words U.S. Census Bureau and it's official insignia printed black, seem to invoke a sense of pride in me. I was now fully equipped to begin my training as a enumerator for the U.S. Census Bureau.

I met with little traffic during my drive to the training location. The slightly gloomy weather with it's cloudy skies and drizzling rain, had zero effect on me. I was heading in early, and even had time to stop and get my favorite breakfast. Things were going good, and I was highly optimistic.

As I turned onto the street, where the training building was located. The old brick building, that had once been a school, came into view. As the surprisingly solid corner wall, that had once been a part of a now collapsed section of the building, came into view. I found myself wondering, once again, whether or not the bureau actually visited this location before choosing it an official training site. Though the building seems right at home in the area of town it was located. It was far beyond what I had originally imagined. I even drove past it yesterday, mistakenly taking it for an abandoned building.

Driving through the iron gates, and having arrived early. I was able to find a parking spot directly in front of the building. The day seemed like it would pass quickly. The instructor informed our class the day before, that today's activities would solely involve our being fingerprinted. After which we were free to leave. Hoping to get a good seat, I quickly grabbed my stuff and headed in.

After a little while small talk, with a few of the trainees that I met yesterday. The instructor entered the classroom, and quickly went over the fingerprinting procedures. There were four desk situated in the front of the room, with was a person responsible for collecting the fingerprints assigned to each. The names were to be called in alphabetical order. After which we were two fill out our timesheets, turn in the paperwork and go home.

As luck would have it, my name was one of the first eight that were called. Considering that there were over 60 students in this classroom, I consider this a stroke of luck. After having my prints taken, and filling out my timesheet. I was quickly out the door and heading towards my car. The weather was still slightly gloomy, but it was a great day.

Having newly acquired a significant amount of free time, of which I had no plans for. I decided to sit in my car and call my brother. It was a great chance to hang out with him and his family, while satisfying my need to boast. I called my brother who happened to be hanging out with his girlfriend at the time. They were both very eager to hear about how my new adventure was going. I sat in the car retelling the day's events, with a bit of lively enthusiasm. While re-telling my story, my train of thought was interrupted by the sound of three gunshots emanating from the neighborhood behind me.

"Do you see what I mean", I began. "They chose the most ghetto location possible, to train us!" Both my brother and his girlfriend laughed simultaneously, for for I had already shared with them the details of our training location. Now, having heard the gunshots through the phone, they took it as a verification that I was not exaggerating. "Well on that note", I continued jokingly. " Guess I'll head up to your place. I'll see you guys in"....

The rear driver side door suddenly swung open, and there was now someone sitting in my backseat. A glance in my rearview mirror revealed a frantic young man wearing a hoodie. Pushing something solid against the back of my neck, and in a frantic voice. He began to command for me to drive. "Hurry drive or I'll shoot you!", he commanded in an anxious voice. "Alright man, I got you . Just calm down. I'll take you wherever you want to go.", I replied in a calm but firm voice. The tone of my voice was clear, calm, but loud enough for my brother to hear me.

Having discreetly switched on the speaker phone option, while simultaneously praying that my brother was aware of what was going on. I placed the phone on my lap, and started the car. "Come on! Hurry! Hurry up! Move!", the young commanded loudly. His voice was more of a worried plea, then an actual command. I began to reversed slowly. Completely aware that there were cars behind me somewhere, yet unable to see them due to the fogged windows and the hooded stranger hopping around my backseat.

My refusal to move quicker, clearly agitated the young man. Prompting him to push harder against my neck, while nervously looking behind him. In almost a loud squeak. He continued begging me to take off. It was as if he was expecting someone to show up. His nervousness must have rubbed off on me, because I found myself stepping on the gas harder. The result of this, was us backing into a car. Now I was starting to get annoyed. The car I was driving belonged to my brother's girlfriend, and I had assured her that I would not get into an accident.

20180112_151142.jpg

As I drove out of the parking lot, and down the road. The reality that I had just hit a parked car, was lingering in my back of my mind. Though I was almost certain that the object being pushed in the back of my head, was not a gun. Having heard the sound of a gunshots, made the rest not worth taking. We were driving towards too massive speed humps. The young man continued to command me to drive faster. I spoke calmly yet firmly again saying, " I am not going to fly over those speed bumps."

I continue to drive for a few minutes, following the young man's instructions. The young man, now sitting back in the seat, began dialing a number on his cell phone. "Auntie!", the young man began. " I was outside Tony's house... A car slowed down. They shot at me." There was a pause. " I'm not sure if I was shot," He continued. I could see him through the rearview, checking himself. I said to him, while looking in the rearview mirror," You would know if you got shot!". I was obviously still annoyed with him. The young man continued his conversation. " I am heading to Lou's house.", he told Auntie.

After finishing his conversation, the young man looked, and caught my eyes looking back at him. His eyes where now remorseful. " I'm sorry.", he began. " I was outside. A car pulled up to me, and begin shooting at me. I did not know what to do. That's when I saw the brake lights on your car, and I jumped in. I don't have a gun, and I would not hurt you."
The fact that he did not have a gun, was already something that my senses had told me. The only reason I had kept on driving, was that he was in my car. Seeing how I was now involved, and someone clearly had a gun.
I had decided it better, to leave the location. Knowing that the young man was not the shooter, did not remedy the situation I was now in.

Though I was highly annoyed with him, I did not feel like playing the police officer. I honestly doubted if I could detain him anyways. I simply replied," Whatever! Just tell me where to drop you off." Grabbing my phone from my lap, and speaking into it. "Jr", I said. Glancing for moment at the rearview mirror, and seeing the young man's surprised look . A brief moment later , my brother replied slightly confused, " Everything okay?" "Everything is fine. Let me call you back.", I replied. " Are you sure?", he questioned. " I am sure., I assured him. He said okay, then I hung up the phone.

We drove for a few blocks further. " You can turn here.", said the young man in a polite fashion. I pulled over, and as if it was a humorous anecdote from the heavens. I realized that the young man had entered my car using the only door that could not be opened from the inside. I got out of my car, and open the door for him, like a good chauffeur. Our eyes met, and with his head bowed, he mumbled " thank you. I don't have any money to give you". To which I simply replied, " Whatever!"

Thank you for taking the time to read my story. I wish I could say I was creative enough to make it up, but I'm not. It is a true story. If you are interested in hearing the rest of the story. I will continue with the story, explaining how the rest of my day played out, in a follow-up post coming soon. Nowadays, I share this story with a sense of humor. I use it as an example of the weird situations that I tend to find myself in. I guess I should be humbled by the thought, that God thought me trustworthy enough. To drive this young man out of harm's way. I will continue the story, on how everything played out, in my next post. Thank you and God bless :)

Sort:  

This is the best! Thanks for sharing this. I likely would have done the same thing that you did. That is a wild turn of events to be a part of.

I've learned that never really tell how you were going to act in a situation, until you are in it. Though I suppose if you experience them enough, or I trained in them. Then it might be a different story.

But really, how do you train for the guy jumps into your backseat and holds a 'gun' to your neck scenario?

I can't wait to see what else happens that day.

LOL... it looks like my version of the shooter needing a friend may have been accurate... give or take a few dozen details. hehe

Your reaction was surprisingly close LOL

Wow, glad you are OK man. God Bless....

Thanks man. There was a time when those stories happen to me all the time.

Your in RI, right? Would never have imagined things like that happening there.

I know, yet people are people. Ri isn't totally like this. I was just in right place at the right time lol

this is the best story in my life.

Well thank you, I wish I could say I was creative enough to make it up lol

You had a very hectic day, it's good that you knew how to master it. Success

It's funny how things work out. You never know how you are going to act in a situation until you are actually in it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dreamingirwin from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I got to know a lot better after reading the article. The story was very much like me.

keep it up

Well I'm glad you can relate. :) Thank you for taking the time to check out my post.

You got a 4.46% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @dreamingirwin!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

This post has received a 5.97 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @dreamingirwin

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

RESTEEMBOT IS FOR SALE
I COULD WRITE CODE FOR YOU

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67646.69
ETH 3790.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50