What do you really want? What are you willing to give for it?

in #life5 years ago


This past week my husband and I have been talking about what direction we'll be taking in what we've dubbed 'Phase Three' of our lives, and ever since our first conversation the universe has been jumping in to help us with our decision making with little synchronous moments.

The first of which occurred right after we both agreed that we would not let societal convention or fear of the unknown direct our path. It came in the form of an incredible documentary that turned up in Howie's recommended feed- Free Solo. If you have not seen this, I highly recommend it:



Alex Honnold lives a life without compromise, doing what he loves no matter the cost. And he answers two of what I consider the most important questions to ever ask ourselves: What do I really want? And what am I willing to give for it?

The universe will work with you when you move in this direction and he is definitely the best tangible proof of that I've ever seen- outside of my own life which has proved that to me over and over.



01 universe.png


Confession time- I love extreme sports. There's something about people pushing the edge of what's possible with death on their shoulder, doing what they love and willing to risk it all, that appeals to me. In part because it's just incredible to see the things humans are capable of accomplishing, but also because it speaks of a kind of spiritual awareness that no matter what we do, we are all going to die. I'm not saying people shouldn't take care of themselves, but living a life without risks in the hopes of buying another day? Makes for a fairly boring story.

And what are we here for if not to 'write' the greatest story we possibly can?



02 story.png


So after we watched Free Solo we had another discussion about what risks we were willing to take for our own story. Again we were in tune as our joint answer could be summed up as Big ones. And again the universe intervened to let us know it was in accord. I have a screen saver on my laptop that features daily changing, random scenery from all over the globe. Guess what it changed to on this particular day?



Yosemite-2018-Valley-View-e1531457848381.jpg

Yup, that is El Capitain in Yosemite!


During the course of these discussions we also talked about our faith in the mind's ability to prevent and to cure disease- if you break that word down it simply means dis-ease after all. And again the universe stepped in with a confirmation in @ericvancewalton's post, also about a documentary- having to do with the mind's ability to heal chronic illness!

Check out Eric's post here


And lastly, I am flying to Charleston SC on Monday to visit with my daughter and step son for ten days, and my daughter called me up and said "Mom, haven't you always wanted to go sky diving?" I sure have. "Well I've been saving up for it, we can go together next Saturday while you're here!" I sure will. Haha, one more off the bucket list, one more epic chapter in my story! I intend to clip my gopro on the vest, so hopefully I will have video of this moment to share with you.

In the meantime, is there something you've always wanted to do but fear is stopping you? Have you asked yourself what it is You really want?



Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @pharesim, @yabapmatt, @teamsteem, @steempeak, @steemgigs, @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Well that will be an awesome video to see!!!

It will!! Howie gave me this industrial clip on so it should work, hopefully it stays attached, haha!!

Aye, staying attached is probably the most important bit!!

Sounds like you have a fun bunch of things planned XD

Sure do! Otherwise, what's the point? lol ;)

I can imagine the audio of the skydiving video already: is that the sound of her screaming with joy, absolute terror, or- just the sound of the wind at 32 feet per second in free fall? All of the above!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi, @dreemit!

You just got a 18.88% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @clayboyn and has been upvoted and will be featured in the weekly philosophy curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94