How Am I Doing? A Self Evaluation

in #life6 years ago

No music and art this week. Just a bit of a sit rep.

People love a story. Most of my blog posts have not been stories though. I don't always start with a problem, keep my readers on the edge with some rising action and tension, and finish with some well learned lesson about life dictated perfectly to make people feel warm and fuzzy inside.

No, my prose is more blunt, beating my readers up and leaving them feeling dreary and worrisome. That is, if they make it to the end.

So how is this blog going? Well, I can't say it's as good as I want it to be. But things never should be. It's going about as well as to be expected on a free site and un-promoted.

My Steemit blog is doing well, thanks to photo contests and the ability to take advantage of the generosity of others who resteem my posts. I'm up over 580 followers as of right now. And it's making me a little bit of money that one day I'll be able to buy a coffee with.

My Studio blog has gotten quite a few hits and likes. Eventually that may turn into print purchases. Eventually. May.

But I don't care. I don't blog for popularity. I blog for catharsis. As soon as I start blogging for numbers my writing suffers and my few readers are left bewildered about where the quality went. You may notice a few weeks here and there where my posts don't come with any regularity. Those are the weeks where anxiety has shut down my mind and a concern for impressing others induces a writer's block from hell that cannot be cured except by a shot of liquor or a pipe.

How am I doing personally? Well. That is a daily answer. It depends on what you are measuring. I suppose I could say overall I am better than I used to be, but most people should be. If I wasn't I would be concerned.

If it is my health you're concerned about, I have been working out, I've lost some weight, and I haven't been sick for awhile. I did just buy some reading glasses and I have a few more grey hairs, age is beginning to show.

If it's my progress in trying to get more focused that you are concerned about, that answer is a bit more complex. In some areas I am achieving focus. In others I am not. It seems to be a teeter totter: when one increases the rest decrease.

Right now I have three weeks to get a truck repaired, a trailer roof fixed, a house cleaned, a trailer packed, a van running, and all the nonsense packed for a summer on the other side of the country.

I am stressed to say the least.

So you may not see much from me in the next few weeks except for a few status reports on our new adventure.

Sort:  

You got a 2.26% upvote from @adriatik courtesy of @driptorchpress!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65262.74
ETH 2937.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68