Cleaning a Small Engine Carb

in #life6 years ago

Simple stuff..


I picked up a small cultivator a few days ago at a yard sale for $10. Apparently it hasn't been used in a bit and she no longer had room for it. Of course, it was stored with gas in it which is a big no no for engines. If you must store it, either run fuel stabilizer through it of completely empty the gas out of it, then start it until it dies to be sure it is all out. Otherwise, you end up with ruined carbs that need cleaning or replacement. Here I show how I went about cleaning a 2 stroke carb. These are smaller and more delicate that 4 stroke carbs, so be careful!


After removing the plastic cover by way of 4 t20 torx screws, I made my way down the carb which is pictured here. Notice the old green sticky old gas/gel on it.
IMG_20180513_111246.jpg

After removing the two screws, I twisted the throttle cable attached to the carb to remove it.
IMG_20180513_113358.jpg

After disconnecting the gas lines going to the carb I drained all of the gas out of the tank. Green gas=bad gas
IMG_20180513_111736.jpg

Now, the carb is out and I am ready to start cleaning! To start, I removed the 4 phillips head screws on the bottom. After the plate is off, this black gasket/reed valve is there. It is very delicate and thin, and if it is damaged it must be replaced. After carefully removing it, this is what I was left with. IMG_20180513_112144.jpg

IMG_20180513_112433.jpg

On the top of the carb is one phillips head screw. I also removed that and was carefully removing the gasket. I was left with this.
IMG_20180513_112535.jpg

Now that it is all out, I used cab cleaner it all the holes and on the plates I removed. It wouln't be a bad idea to blow compressed air into the holes as well. After it was all cleaned..
IMG_20180513_112650.jpg

After it was all cleaned I repositioned the gasket correctly, put the plates back in place, and screwed them down. Then reinstalled the fuel lines, choke, and throttle cable. After it was back on I mixed up some 2 cycle oil and gas, and after a few pulls it started and ran great. It is now ready for a bath and to be posted for sale!
IMG_20180513_113456.jpg


I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

Nice job and description of what is involved to clean the carb, and remove the crud ! Good luck with the sale and keep us posted.

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoy it. I sold this for $57 profit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95