Chronic pain

in #life5 years ago

abstract-971441__480.jpg

I am starting to get a sense of what living with chronic pain feels like. A sense, that is. Touch wood.

I have had back issues (issues with my back) since I worked in a "grog shop" - liquor shop - when I left school, and before I went to university.

My back problems probably weren't helped by years of lugging my amp around for gigs and rehearsals.

Nor by my ongoing weight issues.

But they were helped by yoga.

When I did research for my PhD in Dharamsala India (the home of the Tibetan Government in Exile) 20 years ago next year (hooley dooley), I met a yoga instructor from Sydney. While she wasn't a guru, she was a bit of a master, and she gave me a routine to do everyday which to this day successfully acts as a preventative to my back pain.

Unless I forget to do it for a couple of weeks (which I have ben known to do occasionally), or like over the last couple of months, when I have been walking our dog (who doesn't know his own strength and is only slowly becoming better at not dragging incessantly on his lead). This was brought to a head in the last two weeks when my family went to Noumea and I looked after my Mother-in-Law's old dog Sheeba. I swear she is the oldest, most stubborn dog in the world. And Merlin is the most full on fun little dog in the universe (our neighbours call him Merlwind or Merlstrom).

Anyhow, the last couple of months haven't been great for my back. And the yoga is taking longer to kick in as a preventative and a cure.

I'm hoping that the pattern will be re-established, and that I will be able to get to a point where my lower back doesn't carry with it the dull ache of chronic pain.

I certainly feel for all the people who live with chronic pain on a daily basis. There must be hundreds of millions in this world of ours.

I hope you find your peace.


May all beings be happy.

Photo courtesy of pixabay.com

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

Register for Universal Basic Income here: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=3ac18f2d78

Screen Shot 2018-03-12 at 12.45.33 pm.png

Sort:  

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

The stronger your core becomes, the less pressure on the nerves in your back! Good luck on your journey back to health :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Good luck with the pain mate. Hope you find some yoga relief soon. SK.

Posted using Partiko Android

Cheers, Good Sir!

Hope getting back into the yoga helps! I'm kind of the same with my various achy bits and tai chi. Except I've been getting robbed for pretty much this entire year with this incessant house hunting and I really know about it now, glad I'm not nearly as bad as some other people :S

I have always wanted to learn Tai Chi, and yet apart from a short stint when I was younger, never have...

...d'oh...!

Never too late! XD

Hello @drwom, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78