Hey! You! @DrWom! You're on holidays, take it easy on yourself mate.

in #life6 years ago

rise-1789903__480.jpg

I guess like all of us, it takes me a while to wind down when I finally get to have a holiday...

Have you ever noticed that in many instances, people drive worse when it's raining, not better? More dangerously, not more safely?

Just when it's time to slow down, they speed up - as if they're buzzed out on adrenaline? Like they haven't let go of the rush to get to their car in the rain, but have just sat down and gunned the engine with the same determination they had to get to their car before the rain soaked them through?

They don't bother taking a few minutes to reorient themselves to their new situation: it's dry; it's not raining on them anymore; all the bad things they are determined to avoid are outside the car.

I feel like that now.

The work things I needed to finish before I went on holidays? I finished them.

The home things I set myself to do while on holidays? The things that have been gnawing at my mind and energy for a while now? I have time to do them. In my own time.

So slow down, @DrWom.

It's okay.

It's all okay.

Now, repeat after me:

May I be filled with loving kindness
May I be well
May I be peaceful and at ease
May I be happy.

And keep repeating it.

May I be peaceful and at ease. May I be happy...

〰➰〰

Thanks to Jack Kornfield for that simple mantra, it's a beauty. It's from a wonderful meditation on meditation called The Path with Heart which I totally recommend.

Have a wonderful holiday season everyone.

May all beings be happy.

〰➰〰

Image courtesy of pixabay.com

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

Sort:  

Beautiful.

Thanks funnystuff

Wow.... Really nice. Think I need to use this, was almost letting the holiday vibes get to me

It works :-)

I can relate. It happens to me too, sometimes while one holidays I just keep acting I'm not. I think I need to say this to myself more often

May I be filled with loving kindness May I be well May I be peaceful and at ease May I be happy.

🌞 I find it helps me to give permission to myself to be gentle on myself, if you know what I mean?

Have a perfect day

Yeah... Oops! Forgive my manners, I never really thanked you for sharing. Since I found this write up helpful, I owe you a "thank you". Thanks for sharing @drwom

Maybe after rushing to get to their car before getting soaking wet they're not rushing to get their car to the destination so...it doesn't get soaking wet? o_O XD What I actually notice around here is that especially after the first few rains where we tend to get a slight oil slick on the road (before that washes away with more rain) people drive like they do when it's dry DX

And taking a while to wind down sounds better than what I do (which is usually just crash). Hope you've written this in a wound down state and are enjoying your holiday :D

goatsig

Writing this was therapeutic - I'm feeling much better now🙃

Wow!! Excellent. Happiness for all in Christmas. nice writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76