Watching life go by

in #life6 years ago (edited)

people-2563411__480.jpg

We are participants and observers both. Which are you?

I have been pondering a lot lately, as time marches on.

The cycle of life and death, and my small part in it. Is it so hard to do more good than harm, when all is said and done?

So many small goods can create so much pain, death, suffering.

An embassy in Jerusalem. Could there ever be a good in such a thing? Some small political kudos, traded for the lives of so many.

Is it impossible to do less harm than good, if we must factor in the outcomes of our actions, not just the actions themselves?

So many of those in power feel justified in creating peace through the practice of war.

So many feel the divine justice in taking an eye for an eye.

But the problems of today, so often are the misguided solutions of yesterday.

Can we make a difference?

How can we not?

How can we not at least try to?

And not by creating peace through war, whether on a global scale or in our own homes.

But by creating peace, through being peaceful.

One thing I will die trying to do, is making peace through being peaceful. I will keep trying, though I am not always successful.

I will keep trying, as I watch life go by.


May all beings be happy.

Picture courtesy of pixabay.com

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

drwom.png

Register for Universal Basic Income here: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=3ac18f2d78

Screen Shot 2018-03-12 at 12.45.33 pm.png

Sort:  

We can make things peacefully but it also depends on people around us if they want a peace community

Yep. But we can hep make it so.

Yeah together as one bro.

Somewhere in my anim project I have one character demanding of another how they could possibly thnk that peace enforced by war could possibly last XD

Everyone can and does make differences. Just not necessarily the ones people mean when they talk about "making a difference" :)

yes I know I didn't answer all the rhetorical questions, it's too early in the morning and I haven't started work yet, at least the coffee is finished

Yeh I'm probably more of an observer. Much easier to do what I do then :) Have a good one!

goatsig

I'd love to see your anime thing when you're ready.
Then again, Hahaha you've probably put it all over steemit and I've missed it!

Thanks for your thoughts ryivhnn ☮️

I believe that we must always be contemplative in order to be aware of what is going on around us and where our collaboration and help may be required. Then, we must be participatory, helping to the extent of our possibilities to solve some of the problems of other people who have more needs or problems than ourselves.

Thanks for your comment Marynet - I so agree 🙃

Well written statement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94