Altered Carbon, Screen Printing a T-Shirt and Depression

in #life7 years ago

DW_PrintTee_HD.jpg


Nobody wants to hear about depression I'm sure. However, my Duane's World Steemit account is my umbrella blog of all things me, whether I'm up or down. I do have a few other professional alias's on the web where I exclude such issues but here on this account, I'm going to be as transparent as I can. I've only made 1 post here on Steemit in the past 4 weeks and I'm disappointed about that. I was off to a good start for my first 4 weeks but then spiraled into one of my worst depressions. Much of its personal of course but some of it is the complexities of this platform Steemit. I'm in no way blaming Steemit. I just got tripped upped and it triggered my depression. It's just it can be really overwhelming and convoluted. In future posts, I'm going to voice some criticisms I have about this incredible platform and its growing pains. Yes I know it's only in beta and kind of just a big experiment. However, it has some serious issues if it's going to scale for mass adoption and I know developers are working towards it's brighter future.

This is how my depression physical manifests itself in my studio after 4 weeks. Yes, it's gross!! This is the censored version even. I don't care, I was sad. :(

DW_RoomMessy.jpg


Last week I had a wonderful visit by my old friend Ryan Nicholson, a SFX make-up artist and film maker who I hadn't seen for 15 yrs expect interaction on facebook. He had brain cancer last year with a surgical operation removing some of his brain. WTF am I sad about? He was telling me after the operation he has been able to remember and retrieve all these old long term memories that prior to the operation he could never remember. Wow and just talking to him he has just such a positive outlook on everything.

Me on the left and Ryan on the right.

20840335_10211797133776788_13349007_n.jpg

Ryan told me some really cool news of the next project! He and his wife are working on the make-up effects on Netflix biggest venture yet "Altered Carbon" a 10 part series based on the cyberpunk novel written by Richard K. Morgan. He told me that he was going to show the producers my artwork to see if I can do something for the series, even if it's only a piece of art hanging on a wall. I won't get my hopes up high but that was really cool of Ryan to think about me in that way.

Ryan and I use to shoot all kinds of movies on video and Super-8 film in the late 80s, early 90s. I posted one of these before but I found a few more gems.

Super8.jpg


Anyway, I'm back to Steemit now and hope to be producing cool and fun content on a regular basis again like I was in my first 4 weeks here. I do believe Steemit is an incredible experiment. Thanks for reading!

Hope you enjoy this short video of me screen printing a T-shirt. A friend of mine wanted a vintage distressed looking Harley Davidson logo shirt, so that's why it may be hard to see the printed design.



I hope you enjoyed photos, video and words. I'd love to hear your thoughts. Upvote and Resteem if you like what I'm doing. Thank you for your time.


follow me @duanesworld

Sort:  

It's good that you're back man.

I'm happy you got over the depression, welcome back buddy :)

So glad to read back from you mate, it's been really a long time! I've been through a harsh depression recently, but really very thankful that I fought it back, i'm just concentrating on things that I really like and forget everything else!

Glad you're back! Hope you feel better soon <3

Congratulations @duanesworld! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 comments. Your next target is to reach 700 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57