I don't want to be a kind of dad my dad was

in #life7 years ago

Ass the biggest day in my life approaches, I cannot stop think about my father.

I always choose to remember him from good days and my head rejects any image or sound from the "cancer" days. Of course that I miss him, but I decided not to be a parent like he was. I don't say that I am not raised normally, but I will definitely try different approach with my own kid.
First, my father had strange temper. Or he was joking about everything, or he was dead - serious, there wasn't anything between that. People around liked him very much, but he wasn't so talky at home. Or he was too busy, or he was too tired. We didn't talk a lot. I don't say that he wasn't interested in me, my wishes and my own thoughts, he just didn't ask me about that. Later I found out that he knew much more about me than he ever said to me.

He never asked me do I have a girlfriend, he never told me not to smoke or not to take any drugs...

It was not because he didn't care, it was because he trusted me. I was the best student in my class, I was decent with distant family members and, the most important of all, he saw that I can be a worker. Whenever he was working something, I wanted to be there to watch and help, however small and young I was. When he started his own video library, I wanted to work there. I was eleven at that time. And I worked, same as any adult would! Even better. I was going to school in mornings and to work in afternoons. And I was happy about it!


IMAGE SOURCE

So, dad didn't ask me those important things probably because he thought that I will be OK. That he raised me to be OK. And mom tried to take that part, to take great care about my sister and me. But she was naive and it was easy to deceive he. As I said, I was working and I was great at school, so, everything was allowed to me.
And that was the dark side of the trust.

So I found myself as a corrupted, half drugged, half drunk 16 years old boy on the school playground when my mother called me and told me that she and dad want to speak to me. That day I found out about his cancer and next three years are something that I don't want to remember. When he died, I was crazily mad on myself because there was so many things of which my dad and I never spoke. We never told some things to each other. My mom suddenly woke up, from a quiet and naive woman, she turned to organized and active dragon-woman who drives faster than me :). Now, 13 years later, people can't recognize her.

For about a month from now, I will become a father! And I will talk to my child about everything! And I will know all about that child because, you never know what life can bring to your door and what can happen in the future, so important things cannot remain unsaid! Thank you!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your story! I had similar experience, my dad did not talk much either. He is that kind of person that he wanted raise me the way he was raised by his father. But the fact is a lot had changed and his way did not fit my generation. He then kind of abandoned me and ignored me even we live under the same roof...

Well, that's sad... it is 21st century and we can't raise our kids as it's 19th

i do not want my kids to be brought up in the way i was brought up because sincerely speaking there were things that were just not right. God help us not to make mistakes while bringing up our wonderful unborn kids.

Yes, exactly! Thanks

Congrats on being a soon to be dad! This is a thought provoking post!

So I never talk about it, but like they say, it is what it is. My dad was never around much. He had another family so he never slept at our house. We never did much of the traditional father and son stuff. I think we went fishing once. Go out for a burger every couple of months. I never wanted to be that kind of dad. I may not be the best dad, but at least I am with my kids and spend time with them.

And that is the most important! Thank you !

fortunately or unfortunately you take a portion of your parents with you into the crazy world of raising children, but i always operated on the golden rule of , no matter what the situation you always learn something, sometimes you learn what to do and sometimes you learn what not to do, but you always learn. good luck and get ready to have the time of your life.

Thanks, @bdl1165, nice comment

@dumar022, it's so hard to do everything that I want to do. Things are different because they are different. If I try to talk to Daniel, he gets upset and when I smile at Harvey, he is overwhelmed with joy. Personalities of the children sort of control who i am at times.

I know you will be an amazing daddy and the first few months are simply amazing. This little human will melt your heart. I can't wait to see your greatest gift in this life.

Steem On Dude!

@runridefly, I am lucky to have you as my friend! Steem On!!!

Really good post Dumar. Lovely but sad read

Somewhat I had same story with my father. Just my mum is not dragon she is heavy depressed since he died. I will talk to my child about everything just like I talk to my fiancee, because he as well wasn't talking to his parents and that hurt him.

I wish you all the best in being a great parent, I know you will!

Thank you, @omarrium, I appreciate it!

Hey man, this gave me the bumps. Awesome personal story inspiring us all to be better people! Thx for sharing.

Thank YOU for commenting!

I think it's good you want to be more involve in your children's life.

Yes, but I mustn't forget to give some space to the child

You can be a terrific father if you want to be. But try to take some of the positive things that your father showed you. I was lucky enough to have amazing parents that I love and respect. My grandfather could be very harsh with his children, my father swore he would never be like that and he wouldn't spank his kids. He never did, even when my sister or myself probably deserved it. If you work hard at it you'll be great.

It's probably so, thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68518.46
ETH 3760.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66