Never too late to learn

in #life6 years ago

Inspired by​ the fact that I am learning some new things in my life and I can feel the progress, I came to the ​conclusion that...

... it's never too late to learn new things

It can be too early but never too late.

This reminds me on when I worked as an educator of grownups for six months. The program was organized by the ​employment office and my task was to teach a group of people some basics of Microsoft Office. They were sent there by their employers, otherwise,​ they couldn't keep their jobs​. That's why my job wasn't easy, their jobs depended on me. I will never forget that older lady who works in a grocery store and her first introduction to a computer. She accidentally​ moved the mouse and screamed when she realized that something has moved on the monitor.


When you trying to teach a grown person something, it requires a ​different approach than with school kids. Kids have brains like sponges​, their minds are fresh and not troubled by problems, they will remember new things easier than adults and they will use the new knowledge with no problems at all. But unfortunately​, there are things that kids learn too early.

Once I met a six-year-old​ boy who told me:

"I was watching a secret movie with my brother! A man was peeing on a woman!"

When you hear something like that, you really don't know what to say. Well, that's nothing strange today, the child was born and in next sixth months, the same child knows how to find his favorite cartoon on YouTube.


Grownups are different, they rather stick with "good old".

No matter how "good old" is actually bad, slow and unreliable. They just feel safe where they are. I understand it takes courage for older people to "catch" the 21st century, so when someone decides for that, you have to respect it. But more often I see attitudes like these:
"Why should I try learning new things? I have only two years until retirement.",
"My life is almost over, what should I do with the new knowledge.",
"Who? Me? You must be kidding!"
...


It was never about forcing people to learn because they have to, it's about the choice of those who want to​ understand better the world they live in. The easiest thing in the life is "letting it go". I think that every person should feel satisfaction by receiving new knowledge. No matter if​ your job depends on it and how short will be the rest of your life.

Thank you!!!

U5drUKejjEu6oj7qkXmAkuKqwoyobPe_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

There is nothing wrong learning something new. However, we have been colonized by our comfort zone such that we have "blocked" our minds to the norm. Learning something new each day makes one better.

Damn comfort zone ;)

Learning new things is always great! Expanding horizonts.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Learning and educating yourself in various forms should be a lifetime process :)

Learning is easier for some then others. And some are just lazy or stuck in the past. The old saying .... you can lead a horse to water but you can't make him drink, will always be true.

Yes but I expect the new versions of the same saying

She accidentally​ moved the mouse and screamed when she realized that something has moved on the monitor.

Hehehe. I can relate to this well. Reminds me of the "any key" fable. It's funny that I relive this experience of being patient to teach with the crypto revolution.

Same here;)

The learning curve will always favor the young in new technology... however when it comes to old tasks, they are lost. Fret not fellow oldsters, they may know new, but we know real... real survival, real hardships and real labor.

They are there to supplement our abilities as we are for them.

Im 52 and thinking of going back to learn some computer programming. It will be a challenge.

There is a great quote by Gandhi, my favorite one of all:

"Live as you were going to die tomorrow, learn as you were going to live forever."

I never understood people who do not like to try out new things, explore, learn and grow. There is sooooo much stuff in this world and so many experience we could have. Why ignore it? Why settle for comfort zone and boredom? Thank you for sharing this, it was, as always, very lovely to read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39