HABITS AND ATTITUDES

in #life5 years ago
Resisting Change ...

psicologia-facial-trastornos-personalidad.jpg

One of the jobs of the subconscious is to regulate automatic behavior, like respiration, digestion, circulation. These are reflex actions handled on the subconscious level where they become habits. What are habits.? They´re automatic, free-flowing actions that we don´t have to consciously think about. Habits are necessary because they allow us to comfortably do several tasks at the same time. We can talk while we drive. We can breathe while we eat. If we had to stop to consciously think about how we breathe, or how we digest food, or how we drive a car, we´d have difficulty doing it. If a football player consciously thought about how to run downfield between his opponents, reach up, and snare a pass, he´d probably never get off the line of scrimmage. He´d stand there thinking, ºººHow do I do it.? Let´s see: First the right foot, then the left.ººº He´d go nuts.

Tying our shoelaces became a habit when we were kids. It took a lot of effort at first, right.? You ever watch little kids try it.? Seems like their tongue has to be out or they can´t do it. They give it a tremendous effort. But once they´ve done it twenty or thirty time, it becomes a nice, free-flowing habit. Then they can try something else that requires their tongue to be hanging out.

Tying our shoelaces is a helpful habit, but other habits can hinder our growth. You know the saying. ººººPRACTICE MAKE PERFECT....? ºººº Is it true..? If you´re striving for excellence, practice does not make perfect. For example, when we were very young, we learned to do multiplication without thinking. If I asked you today, ºººWhat is two times two? you would automatically say, ºººFourºººº If I asked, ºººThree times three.? you would say, ºººNineººº Four times four.? Sixteen..ºº All very easy for you. But what if every time you practiced two times two, you came up with five.? If you did it thirty times, you´d have that habit down perfectly, except that every time you did it, you´d be doing it wrong. So only practice of perfection makes perfection.

Suppose that instead of ººººWhat is two times two.?ººº I asked you, what is sixty seven times eighty sixty? You would pass on that, well, I don´t know, but you could have just as easily habituated that one. There are las vegas croupiers who can automatically compute all the odds click click click as easy as two times two. You must practice excellence and make it a habit, You aren´t born with it.

Habits are fine, as long as everything stays the same. A habit that might have served us nicely three years ago might hinder us today, It is estimated, for example, that all of mankind´s accumulated knowledge can be doubled within the next five years, that´s how fast technology is changing, So we need to be aware that some of our habits will require updating if we expect to change and grow.

brain.jpg

We must change our habits, as our children change, as our business changes, as our own needs change. We must keep making habits ººººcurrentººº.

changing habits and developing new ones is a challenge, Remember ºººlock on - lock outººº? It´s no trouble for our subconscious to lock out a new routine, even if it would help us achieve ten times more than what we do now. We feel more confortable with old habits because we don´t have to think about them consciously, In fact, once you have a habit down real good, if you bring it back to the conscious level, you mess up the automatic flow. Have you ever been asked to spell a familiar word.? You might say, ºººGive a pen. I have to write it outººº You know the word perfectly, but the stress of having to think about it causes you to be unsure. Ever try to teach somebody how to dance.? You can suddenly be awkward, uncertain. You wonder, Do I really know this dance.? You do know it, but you know it best subconsciously. Bring it to the conscious level, and you need to think it out...

Sort:  

giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 40. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Thank you so much @pifc for the mention of my post, I´m glad to hear that...!!

I will do my best ..!!!

Very interesting perspective and something to be aware of, keeping current and also making sure we are only practicing things the right way so that is ingrained in our subconcious and not our errors!
Thanks for sharing this!

If we reflect before doing things, it is possible that things go as we have planned, we can dominate our subconscious, it is a part of us, we know that it is there, but we can stop it from dominating us...

Thank you so much to visit my post @porters ... It is a pleasure to see you here...!!!

Love your comment...!!!

So only the practice of perfection makes perfection.

The practice is what makes us better, it even leads us to perfect our innate skills leading us to be better at what we do in common.

Blessings to you. I want to thank the wonderful gesture that you had when participating in the project "Santa Venezuela" Organized by my good friend @crypto.piotr, I want you to know that I appreciate the support you gave us, it was a wonderful gesture.

God bless you ... Pr Euclides Villegas.

Thanks a lot @fucho80

You right, I think hard practice make us a little expert, and improve our skills as you said...

Also I think, life makes as better person...

You don’t have to say “”THANK YOU”” because @cryto.piotr made everything happens ...!!!

Thanks a lot for the wishes, and for visiting my post

Posted using Partiko iOS

And it sounds really cool ...!!!

Amazing...!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Excellent article. Of course, there are other skills at play that might prevent us from learning how to do something, even though we practice as hard as we can. For me, it's stuff like playing music. I tried, I tried, I tried, I tried several different instruments along the years. I always failed.

At one point, I had a teacher telling me: "Here, have this triangle and stick, cause that's all you'll ever be able to play. And not very good."

I guess my mind is more hardwired for other stuff. Everything that involves timing things... it's usually very hard to me. I need to do thing on my own time. If I have to adjust my movements to a certain time... it will be a failure.

Thanks for your article, which I've found because @porters featured you in her entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Hello @trincowski thanks for coming...!!!

Well, you know, nothing is impossible right...!! If you say.. ºººI always fail..ºº you are keeping that in your mind and your subconscious, but you can stop that, changing the way are you think ...

If you couldn´t play a guitar today, well stop. And you can try it again tomorrow..!!! But never give up with a small challenge.

Always we have the time to do something especial...

Remember nothing is easy in this life, we have to fight for something we really want.

So true! There's no sense practicing mediocrity is there :)

I found your post because @porters featured you in her Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry; please feel free to join us with an entry of your own any week!

thanks a lot @lynncoyle1 for your invitation ...!!!

A couple minutes ago I posted some new in my profile, hope to see you over there and waiting for your writing...!!

here´s the link: https://steemit.com/mindset/@edgarare1/reticular-activating-system

Have a great day...!!

A very important lesson for all of us. Attitude is so important - and sometimes that takes practice in its own right.

Great post! I found you because @porters featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation contest. Keep up the great work!

Yeah, @viking-ventures you´re completely right...

A couple minutes ago I posted some new in my profile, hope to see you over there and waiting for your comment...!!!

here´s the link: https://steemit.com/mindset/@edgarare1/reticular-activating-system

Have a great day...!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much @c-squared for your huge support ...!!!

For sure, let me do my job as a witness ...!!!

I like that... Practice does not always make perfect...

But practicing the correct way is more likely to lead to a quicker correct response! Heheee

Nice thoughts

Glad to see you back!

You’re completely right my friend @dreemsteem

Time is perfect, and it show us our improvement each day ...!!!

Thanks a lot for the welcome .. thanks a lot to see you here in one of my post again..!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

hehehe yes! I've been waiting for you to come back :)

Thanks a lot, I will try to post more often

Posted using Partiko iOS

That was quite and enjoyable read.

I do think that there a lot of things that we should all make an habit of, like saying thank you.

Just like i want to thank YOU for pitching in your part for the ''Santa Venezuela'' Initiative, big or small, every bit counts, and yoour goodwill is something that we hold in high value.

Happy new year, and thank you for your support!

Thanks a lot @roronoa07 ..

I’m in peace now, I want to mention an especial friend @cryto.piotr .. all the credits is for him and I just put a little bit...

Thanks a lot for coming to my post...!! I like it..

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello friend from Venezuela I send you many greetings.
I came to say thank you, for all the support, on behalf of my family we thank you for the support you gave to Crypto.Piotr @crypto.piotr Santa & Piotr Visits Venezuela. That really helped me a lot and I could also help others in my country, who are fighting for their freedom.

Thank you, I hope that this year 2019 will be very successful in everything you do.

Love to here that my friend @lanzjoseg ..

Thank you so much for the wishes in 2019, I need something especial, the best thing to keep in touch with you and see you are growing up on steemit and the community by @crypto.piotr

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97