We're having "The Talk"

in #life6 years ago

fullsizeoutput_2181.jpeg

This past week, several things have happened to make me feel like I need to have "the talk" with my daughter. Ahhh….the dreaded puberty talk…I'm not looking forward to it, but honestly, does anyone ever look forward to that?

I'm not ready….I'm not ready for training bras, periods, and sex talk, she's 10….but I feel she's ready, her friends have had the talk already and are starting to get their period, so I begrudgingly start looking up articles and books online.

I feel overwhelmed….where do I start? I stumble upon this article that suggested that I should have had this conversation with my daughter at age 6. What?!?! I'm a total failure, I'm 4 years behind…but at 6 year old my daughter couldn't wipe her own butt, what could she possibly understand about sex? So I keep reading .....

Another article suggests that I talk to my 5th grader about oral sex. Mortified, I close that article and after deeming that author a pedofile, I briefly think about homeschooling my children. That is short-lived and I keep scrolling through the articles online.

Finally, I find a suggestions for what appears to be a really good book and I quickly do Amazon One-Click on that (as if it's going to go out of stock soon).

IMG_6664.JPG

I try to sit back and remember the talk that my mom had with me when I had my period but i draw a blank.

I'll write again once we do have the dreaded talk and let you know how many times I threw up in my mouth.

Until then, Cheers!

Sort:  

Man good luck with that...6 years old really!!! Yea I'm so not looking forward to that talk. I'm just going to be like wait until your 30!!

Yeah, 6 years old is a bit of a stretch but 10 years old I think she's ready. I get the feeling she's hearing things from friends at school so we need to get it out of the way. The good thing is we'll probably just have it once and then the older one can have it with the younger one!

Did you have the talk yet? Yep I remember my mom's talk too ... Nah who am I kidding . Well let me know how it goes, 10 is way too early

I'm waiting for the books to get here. They watch a video at the end of 5th grade to explain all this stuff but she has friends who are already starting their cycle at 10 years old so it's time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55