Commit to new experiences - A Beautiful Cottage TripsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

Hello hello,

First thing I want to do is to verbally commit myself to Steemit, in this case it's going to be me typing it out to those who read this post. I've decided that to make at least one new post every week. Here goes.

These last couple days I was invited by one of my close friends to go to his uncle's cottage. Initially I wasn't too sure, I guess I was mostly nervous about intruding on the 3 families that were going, and that I hadn't even met the owner of the cottage- but after some reassurance from my friend, and knowledge that his dog would be coming, I decided to go- I love dogs.

33324978_10156841357558465_237056046978301952_n.jpg

I tried fishing for the first time in my life- I took the rod, cast the line, and reeled it back once. I didn't have a fishing license, and I guess I wasn't as interested in catching fish when I saw his aunts and uncles catch them. Nevertheless - it was a new experience, and maybe one day I'll return to it.

I got my first ride on a motorboat. I had the chance to first hand experience the saying, "dress for the water, not the weather" and my gosh, it was ridiculous. I've never felt the fear of losing my sunglasses to the wind and water, but that was a welcome trade-off for the experience. As we picked up speed, the warm winds turned ice cold - that was some crazy shit. Amazing experience.

I got to paddle in a Kayak- not a new experience for me, but facing one of my fears was - Spiders.

I think this is the case for many introverted people, myself included- the fear of inconveniencing others outweighs a lot of things. In this case, the owner of the cottage had dragged the kayak out to water for me, but it was clear to me that the kayak hadn't been used for months. I didn't want to tell him I was scared of spiders, and have him try to clean it out for me, after all he had done for me, letting me in his cottage. Cobwebs sparsely covered the inside, and there was a lot of Styrofoam dust and leaves that fell out- I knew there were spiders in there. As I waited for my friend to get his kayak in the water, I tried to pick at the cobwebs with my paddle, but then the owner held the kayak for me to help me get in- and so I did. I immediately got tingling feels on my legs, still not sure how much of it was from spiders, and how much from my mind. As I paddled towards the middle of the lake,I grabbed 5 spiders off myself, and swatted at a couple outside my kayak crawling towards me. My heart was racing, but after 20 minutes I felt like I had gotten most of them off, and as long as I didn't look towards my legs, ignorance was bliss.

Kayak.png
That's me returning from a 40 minute fun filled ride. I was sweating from places I didn't know was possible.

All in all, I had an amazing time on this trip, and it's now that I look back I realize how lucky I was to get the chance to try all these new things. Recently in my life I've turned the corner and stepped into my 24th year, and as someone who's always been fairly relaxed about everything, I wanted to push myself to pursue personal growth everyday. I've started reading more self-help books, and I've even gotten to my 2nd post on Steemit, and I am happy with my growth so far, but I'm willing to commit to much more.

For those who have read this far, and those who have followed, thanks for carving out some time, and helping me commit.

Cheers,

Victor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75