The words that continually change my lifesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I'm a little late on this blog post by my standards, but better late than never.

Speaking for myself, and perhaps many others, motivation comes and goes. Looking back to my younger self (Pre 20's)- there were days that flew by, consumed by a burst of motivation to be productive. Those days are work-filled and strangely fulfilling, except that these days are far and few between. To truly change my habits, I had to change who I was internally, the cogs that make me tick, and I found just the thing.

Words. Words that evoke enough emotion for me to internally assess myself as a person.

"Being 50, 60, 70, 80, 90 and regretting that you didn't swing the bat is the worst regret of them all" -Gary Vaynerchuk
Garyvee.png
@GaryVee on Instagram

Regret- You only live once. It's a phrase thrown around again and again, whether it's as a joke, through memes, or slang. It's true, and now that I'm older- I feel it. I'm a quarter-way through this one way ticket. One day I'm not going to be able to do what I can now. Will I be comfortable when the days come and I'm old and restricted? Why can't I be that person on TV, or why can't I be a best seller author, CEO of a fortune 500 company?

I can be. And the more work I put in now, the more power I'll have in changing that answer into "I will be". I can picture mediocrity at 80, and oh god. I do not want that.

"It doesn't matter what they think, in the end, the RESULTS speak" - Gary Vaynerchuk

I've had some very successful friends. Some subjectivity in there- but I've seen first hand those who have great ambition- and back it up with an amazing drive. Whether they want to be investment bankers, registered nurses for specific units or whatever their goals, they have almost a silent trail of work behind them. The no nonsense drive, with little regard to what others think of them is so admirable - and it's an attitude I'm working on adopting.

These aren't the only phrases that have hung around in my brain, but they're part of the words that constantly force me to re-examine my life and ask:

Am I on the right track to where I want to be?
Am I happy ending my day like this?

And whether these questions make me feel good or bad, they push me forward. Crazy what a few little words can do.

'When someone catches your eye, just say hi. They may ignore you. Or you may marry them. That possibility is worth more than one word' - Unknown

Glad to spill my thoughts onto Steemit. I'm going to get this back on track.

Deloitte.png
Celebratory Dinner- Starting @ Deloitte as a consultant in September!

Thanks for reading. Cheers,

Victor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75