Inside the CIA, Facial UnRecognition & Bills for Blue Lives

in #life6 years ago

We go inside the #CIA with John Kiriakou - the only person to ever serve jail time for the CIA's torture program - because he blew the whistle on it. He also worked with Gina Haspel, the new chief of the CIA who not only took a large and energetic part in the torture program but destroyed evidence of it as well. John dishes on the CIA paradigm, the war on whistleblowers and the deep state.

PLUS, Blue Lives Matter bills have cropped up all over the place recently. And now, the Protect And Serve Act has passed the House and awaits Senate Approval. Here's why that's horrifying and problematic.
Speaking of horrifying and problematic, Facial Recognition technology is the new toy for law enforcement - from the FBI to your local police. There are just a few problems - i.e. no one seems to know how to use it and the technology just can't seem to recognize faces...what could possibly go wrong??

Sort:  

I've always wondered what it was like living in a country that the CIA was overthrowing - having watched it from afar for decades. Now, we get to witness them overthrow our government, firsthand.

You are assuming cops are here to prevent and reduce crime, while rehabilitating criminals convicted.
Evidence suggests that cops are here to enforce America's racial caste system.
First there was slavery, with Masters, slave patrols and slaves; then, Jim Crow, with the KKK; now we have mass incarceration, with cops and prisons.

Not sure where I said I'm assuming cops are here to prevent crime. Actually, if you look at my body of work, I say the exact opposite. Don't assume that I assume things that I clearly don't.
https://www.artkillingapathy.com/need-police-question-not-crazy-sounds/

It was great you interviewed John Kiriakou.
I love hearing his voice.

Sorry to hit a nerve. I suck at giving constructive criticism. Please forgive.
To be fair, I've seen you question this assumption before and I'm getting old, so I might not remember every single thing I've seen you said...I was only referring to the beginning section of this video...cuz my memory last that long...lol
I will read your piece on getting rid of cops by Saturday...too busy right now.
Here's what I thought your underlying assumption is with regard to facial recognition programs:
Some of policing went wrong and has become illegal and we should fix it. (which I agree with btw). I might have totally misunderstood you?
I was trying to say that it is doing EXACTLY what it is supposed to do. It isn't an accident that these problems exist. They pay good money so that it works this way.
I thought you sounded surprised that they would implement these types of programs, when I would just assume they did it on purpose.
Some cultures have effective policing. Ours is dysfunctional.
I've heard many good hearted people complaining that if we just fix a few things, everything will be fine. I'm starting to question that approach, as humanity could possible be committing suicide right now. I wish I was better at it.
Again. Sorry. I like your work.

Didn't hit a nerve - it takes a lot more to get me riled up. It just irks me when a comment is made that puts words in my mouth - for instance that cops are here to reduce crime. I appreciate constructive criticism when it happens but didn't see your comment as such. No hard feelings at all though - hope you enjoyed the episode and the article. I appreciate you watching/reading!

Best of luck my friend. I Upvoted for you.

I love this post! I personally am confident that the world will be a better place without police in it. I look forward to that day, and am sure it's coming, for reasons.

I almost pity the future. I got a sunburn a few days ago, no biggie kinda mild, but after a few days it starts to itch, and this morning I hit the shower with a loofa sponge on a stick and gave my healing back a good scratch.

Aahhhh!! what a great feeling to scratch itchiness!

As we face injustice, criminal thuggery posturing as government, and rapine economic enslavement today, the discomfort we will heal when we end these diseases will be an enormous relief and grant us deserved pride and pleasure in that accomplishment. The poor posterity we leave behind will be bereft of such irritants, and never know that quasi-orgasmic pleasure that comes from scratching such itches.

I'm sure they'll find a way to cope ;)

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70