Signal vs. Noise (How to discard the bad and retain the good)

in #life6 years ago


I have been working to reduce the amount of "noise" present in my life as of recent. Noise, to me, is defijed as anything that wastes your time or is not bringing you value in your life. When the modern communication platforms, we are constantly bombarded with ads, alerts, and garbage. People will try to waste your time by selling you pipe dreams and flashy stuff. Cut out the nonsense. Cut out the clutter. retain the good stuff, and get back your time.

thank you for your time and attention, see you in the comments


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Unfollowing account is one way to cut out the noise.

I'm happy to share that 3 of my own minimalism journey.

  1. Try not to use phone for 3-7 days
  2. Delete the apps you no longer bring value at this time and download back when you need them
  3. Turn off notification completely and check em once a week

I lived without phone for 3 and half months and It was so awesome
I do delete apps very often even if they bring value and I just hate distractions
when I sleep I put my phone in the kitchen

like so many things. I know you're reading good books about it and most important thing is to find out what works for you and what doesn't

Good luck with eliminating noise in your life :)

These were really helpful. # 2 especailly. I hadnt even thought about the number of apps and stuff on my phone but that is overwhelming as well lol.

I like the sleep with the phone in the kitchen thing as well. thank you for these suggestions and your comment!

Nice one, Eduardo. I purge my following list maybe every 6 months. It's not a big deal for me as I normally don't consume as much as I produce. Lovely process!

Now I'm on high alert, waiting for the day that I get purged 😂 ... i always feel bad when I start unfollowing people, i need to make it more routine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25