Someone Stole My Bike :(

in #life7 years ago

Well, what can I say? the one thing that I thought wouldn't happen; happened. I'll tell you all about it.

A couple of nights ago I had just got home from work and it was about 1 am as I tend to work late over the weekends, And as I placed my bike in the shed, I looked at the lock and thought 'Who on earth is going to come into my back garden and start rummaging through my shed in the middle of the night? No one! that's who. Well, how wrong was I?

The next morning at 8 is as I went to grab my bike before heading off to work I was greeted by none other than an empty Fucking shed!

My heart sank. My fist clenched and my Mouth reacted. "Fuck!"

My $200 Bike. Gone!

20inch Goblin Demo.jpg
Not my actual bike. I couldn't take a picture of it, because it got stolen. Remember?

But It's ok because they took my neighbour's bike too. Not sure if he knows yet :/

And just to add insult to injury (or thievery?) I then had to walk 40 minutes to work only to get moaned at for turning up late.

So yeah, The moral of the storey is; Don't be so damn lazy, and lock up your bike!

And in case you were wondering, No I don't have a new bike yet and I now have to spend 80 minutes walking to and from work, which is an absolute killer when you work 12+ hour days.

On a brighter note, a friend of mine has a spare bike that he can sell me, so I just have to wait til my next paycheck comes through in 2 weeks time :)

That's pretty much it really. if there's is one thing you should take from this, It's; 'Don't assume that everyone as honest as you are'.

End of story.

Thanks for Reading :)

Sort:  

Haha, I feel you. I remember my bike was stolen (it was locked to a pole in my back yard) and the their didn't even have the decency to repaint it so I couldn't find it. Instead, it was resold to a very nice/young family living near me. Every now and then, I see them riding it.

Never got the heart to tell them.

Oh man, That sucks! I'll be honest, I was pretty damn angry, but after looking around the city that i live in and seeing how many homeless people there are, I kind of calmed down a bit. I expect it was desperation that lead someone to sneak into my shed in the early hours of the morning and run off with a couple of bikes.

I had a bike stolen years ago. I actually did lock it up (with a U-lock) but I locked it up outside and that was foolish. You see, first the thief came by and stole my unsecured bike seat. I should've brought the bike inside, but no—I assumed what had been told to me, which was that a U lock was "indestructible".

Well, I found out the hard way that that style of lock was very much destructible. The bike theiving SOB came back and managed to break the U lock, which I found laying in two mangled parts around the base of the pole where my bike had been locked up to.

I do worry about how easy these locks are to get open. I watched a tone of videos on youtube about how to pick locks too. Some people make it look so easy. I'm definitely going to keep my bike inside from now on.

Supposedly some bike thieves even use nitroglycerin to freeze the locks and then just crack'em...

Really? That's worrying. and a little bit cool as well XD

Here's a bike that turns into its own lock

http://bit.ly/15sKjHZ

Now this is cool. :)

Oh man, I feel your pain! The exact thing happened to me several years ago...bike stolen from my (unlocked) shed. My story had a happy ending, though! After reporting the incident to the police and checking their stolen bike locker and the one at the University, I made a sad post to Facebook and got lots of comments. Three months later, a Facebook friend emailed me with a link to a Craigslist posting about someone trying to sell MY BIKE! Called the cops; they sent someone undercover to retrieve it. Woo hoo! I've had this bike since 1991, so I was kinda attached to it. Keep the hope alive!

Oh man, That's pretty damn lucky that you got it back :) I didn't bother reporting mine to the police though as bike theft is so common were I live.

Yeah, the police were extremely UNhelpful when I initially reported the theft. And once I had the lead, it took a few phone calls to the right person for them to finally take action! So sad they don't take such things more seriously, particularly when a bike is sometimes a person's main mode of transport (it was mine). I wish you all the luck in it's retrieval! Or, perhaps, if you put some positive vibes out there, a nice, free/cheap bike will wander your way :-)

We can only hope that some kind of blockchain system will be created to keep track of ownership when things such as bikes etc are stolen. :)

Congratulations @endaksi1! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Cool, Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68820.96
ETH 3915.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64