Moon Drive

in #life6 years ago

moondrive.gif

The moon, maybe a star... and fake reflection lights. All I know is that we are just zooming down the freeway, trees and decorations flying by, and I just can't help but notice the moon. A nice shiny crescent, anchored into the sky, resting just above the twilight. I just had to capture the moment.

Now I am in a draft, staring at my animation that the phone captured, thinking that somehow this moment is significant, but unable to articulate just what it is into words. Perhaps it is the refreshing contrast of having something stable in the world while everything else flies chaotically by. A goal, perhaps? Or a core belief that drives? A reminder that while the crazy world is bubbling about, to take a breather and find some grounding? A new direction? Nah.

My general tendency while navigating this life is to go with the flow. Quite a bit of flexibility to bend until I snap. And I sure can snap... Though maybe that has to do with bottling things up, which is definitely not a healthy thing to do. Actually that reminds me of the sequence that appears in this post about Wise Mind by @staceyjean. I ventured into some mindfulness classes before, and it seems similar here. The one curious benefit that I've only heard of but have yet to experience is that mindfulness training allows you to pause when you feel yourself getting heated in an argument say, and allows you to unwind a bit and redirect things in a more productive way. Sounds like a great ability to have, though I'm quite lazy with mindful practices. Having gone through a few though it helps to be reminded of it so I can incorporate some of it back into daily practice.

Whew... where was I... anyway, this moment was a dull moment, just sitting in the passenger seat while being driven to where I grew up as a kid. Makes the mind wander I suppose. And with that, I leave you to stare at the drive.

I just like how the moon says good evening.

Sort:  

Awe this was an awesome read! Thanks for the shout out. Wanting to reach the point to where I can slow my thoughts during a heated moment is exactly why I practice mindfulness. I want to be the level headed one for once 😄

Yes! Come to think of it, I'm not sure what caused me to think of mindfulness but just how my mind works I guess, jumpy. Fun to not know what I'm about to write :)

My general tendency while navigating this life is to go with the flow.

Does not stop me from still kicking and screaming.
Kinda like this

Yikes! Accurate hahaha.....

The Moon was in Sagittarius three days ago—if that was when you filmed it. If so, then you'll probably feel the same way about things on the evening of December 8th, and from the 9th to the 10th, too.

I'll let you know when the date comes around :)

Don't worry about it. Nevermind.

That was a sweet read my friend :-) To be ever mindful is nigh impossible for me... I must keep trying though. Thanks for reminding me with this beautiful reminder @eonwarped :-)

At least you are aware ;). Ah. I just reminded myself again. It's like "the game" except that you win. (If you don't know what "the game" is, you are golden).

moon in awesome in the sky 👌👌

Posted using Partiko Android

Mindfulness, as a reminder is all about taking some deep breaths too! Last night, I sat outside on the ground as the temps dropped and just stared at the crescent moon. soo crisp and clear the night was, I like to think I'm getting a moon tan... thanks for sharing.

Probably safer than using the sun cause, you could get burnt. Crescent moons are the best.

Sometimes it's nice to just let the mind wander and be aware of where it's wandering. ;)

Oooh. So am I aware? thinking

Hi @eonwarped!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.657 which ranks you at #1559 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 26 places in the last three days (old rank 1585).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 223 contributions, your post is ranked at #159.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95