A Series of Fortunate Events

in #life6 years ago

DSC_0006.jpg

Something unexpected happened for me. Let’s say it was good luck, tiny miracle in middle of grey non-special day in life. Thank you my lucky charm, I’m gonna keep you close if there would be more where this one came from… ;)

This story need a little foreknowledge, so let’s start with that:

Recently I purchased a new camera, precious EOS 800D as I had no functional camera anymore. By anymore, I mean that I managed to break my previous one on year 2013 (ish) and never purchased a new one. For some, unknown reason I still have the body of that camera. Maybe my mother’s hoarder genetics are kicking in… YAIKS!

DSC_0028.jpg


The Chain of Fortunate Events

I was chatting with @TallTim and old camera’s rose as a topic. I told him that I had somewhere old Nikon D80, and how I kept it even if it was broken. The topic sticked in my mind even after the conversation. Day after I found that old camera body, just laying around in closet. I had seen it before, but I never picked it up. For some unknown reason today I did. I examined the camera carefully and thought what was the thing that actually broke it. A funny thought crossed my mind. Would it be possible……

I opened the cover of memory card input and saw exactly what I was hoping to see, a card. I took tiny, just 2GB memory card out from the camera and thought that this could be nothing, totally horrifying or purely golden… Without delay I slipped the card in memory card reader, but it wasn’t reading it. The other topic from night before cross my mind. @TallTim told me about some SD card that wasn’t reading and the reason was that retaining mechanism for the SD Card wasn’t tight enough. Okay, let’s give it a try, after some wiggling my laptop showed the card. And what that card hold in definitely was GOLDEN!

DSC_0036.jpg

Lapland’s Las Vegas

The card hold in photography from years 2012 and 2013, back in those days I used to live in lapland. The place I lived and worked was (and still is) a Ski center we called ”Lapland’s Las Vegas”. Reason for that was simple.

What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas

DSC_0005.jpg

There it was. Somewhat dumb, twenty-something girl doing her thing, being an escapist. And that was years and years before I had guts to admit it to my self that it was and is my thing. That was my already third getaway from life and I loved the nomading lifestyle I had.

These pictures makes me miss those days, and that feeling of total freedom. I also miss lapland like crazy. And what is there not to miss! This time I’m going to take better care of my precious photography. I could’t be happier that I got these ones back, ones I thought I had lost for good.

DSC_0009.jpg
Reetu used to be my roommate back then, and we actually still are friends

DSC_0010.jpg I have to thank my twenty-something self for taking these pictures RAW, maybe you weren't as dumb a you looked like...

Sort:  

Oh, man! I got an idea to maybe eventually bike to Lapland, find a job and spend the winter there working. Have heard that there's a lack of workers in there so it shouldn't be too hard. Then continue my biking adventures :D

Not bad idea! I'm thinking of returning. Or the capital is my other choise. Or abroad....

Glad you found that hidden treasure in your camera.
And thank you for sharing. These photographs a spectacular!
steemsig.png

Thanks :) These really made me miss lapland:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63