Quiet Place

in #life6 years ago (edited)


The secret hiding place

I talked about the topic a little while writing about my sensitivity for voices, that I need to get to the place without any sounds when the moment comes. I have a few place I like to go when all the hustle gets to me. A few in a city and a few more in countryside. Well, I find a place for it when I need one even if I haven’t checked it in advance.

I visited my parents house in countryside on weekend and mentioned out loud about these quiet places, and my mother surprised me by asking if I’d like to visit hers. She knows I’m into photographing nowadays and suggested the place as I could get nice photos out of it. And she definitely needed some quiet time so I promised to shut up and just concentrate on taking photos, if she showed me her hiding place.


Pixie Forest

The place my mother wanted to show me wasn’t actually too far away from our home, just 20minutes drive away, pretty much in middle of nowhere. She pulled over to the side of road and said we were there. I felt a bit confused because there was nothing there, and she said that there would be a white-water in the place she mentioned. Well, I thought, maybe we just continue on foot.

The place was actually pretty much next to the road, only a short trail from road to the forest and the white-water was there. It seemed like it didn’t belong there at all, like it was some random river racing through forest. Mom went to her quiet spot enjoying some peace and silence and I wandered deeper into woods.

After wandering a while I found something beautiful, scenery out of pixie tales. Shallow pond in the middle of a deep forest, so deep that not even all the snow hadn’t melted. The ponds were still partly frozen too.
As the light of setting sun sifted through branches I had no choice but sit there and enjoy the view.


Brains Off

For me it is extremely important to take time off from everything every now and then. Sometimes I need to do that weekly, sometimes only once every a other month. Just a short while to reset my brain and erase all the unnecessary clutter. I’m way too addicted to my gadgets to take regular screen off time, even if I would need it. But without people off time I wouldn’t survive.

There is something extremely soothing about nature and all its elements. I never get annoyed to the sound of wind or flowing water. To the sight flames caressing surface of wood while burning. Nature and time spent in is almost poetic to me. You lose track of time and the place loses its meaning. It is only that moment that matters, things you see, smell, hear and feel. Nature provides endless amount of details and nuances to experience. And just like in my work I have to think how to create harmony in big picture the perfect inspiration can be found from nature.

I don’t mean you have to start chewing down pine tree to get ideas for cooking but the perfect harmony is there, just need to breath it in and get inspired. I try to combine different feels and textures in my work, in same way they can be found from that moment in forest. There is something soothing, something new, something soft, cold, warm, harsh… you got the idea. Finding the balance between the elements is the key, in work, creating and life in general.


Melting clutter

A few hours in that beautiful place did the job. Or at least it felt like a few hours, I really don’t have any idea how long it really was. And in the end it doesn’t even matter. The clutter melted from my head and I feel I can again hear my own thoughts, not like there is too much to hear but still. Even if the place was my mothers ”quiet place” I think I need to borrow it every now and then. The pixie like almost magical feeling in the woods was intoxicating.

The photographs don’t really show the true beauty I experienced there, but I tried to capture little glimpse of that magical feeling. And there was helluva a lot frogs. Do not forget to mention the frogs.


Do you have a quiet place?



Canon EOS 800D, TAMRON 70-300mm f/4-5.6, Sigma 30mm f/1.4 Art and EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS

Sort:  

AH, can't help it but our Finnish forests are the most beautiful thing in the world. Moss covered forest floor and afternoon light sifting through the trees, all the shades of green. Well not yet but soon!!

I know! Simply perfect.
Lol you might think we are not that candy-ass as we claim to be...

But we are!

Nothing like a walk through the forest. I like your photos, especially the first one with a silky water.

Thanks, nice to hear you enjoyed them ˆˆ

That place is inside of my head. Most of the time I create art with tv turned on. The funny thing is that I often forget about tv and it's sounds. My mind starts wandering and imagination takes me far far away. sometimes to the past. sometimes to the future. Ideas, desires, thoughts and emotions comes and goes away. Some of them stays only for a brief moment. Others linger a while longer. Long enough to settle and leave a tiny mark in a piece in front of me. And another mark inside of me. So my place is where my art is.
But yesterday I decided to try something new. weather seems like summer already. So I took my workshop to the outside.
DSC_0491.JPG

DSC_0492.JPG
These photos are nothing special and can't compare with your shots. Still it is nice to feel the sun on top of my skin and to hear birds singing.

That is really nice set up to spend time creating.

My mind is so deep and dark place that i dont want to wander in there. I might get lost!

@escapist - Wonderfully written post with great photos.

Peace and quiet in beauty are healing things. Too much sound and noise can cause sensory overload and anxiety for sure.

Thank you!

Beautiful work. The tranquility wonderfully captured. We all need to shake out the clutter, get intouch with that inner voice and have those conversations with the oe inside.
These forest scenes are beautiful indeed. It helps us understand the importance of preserving nature for all future generations.

hey you must try this they are offering free 30 days upvote service for limited time. i am using it for 2 weeks, They upvote my every new post Click here to see the offer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27