My Ketogenic Eating Journey of 2018 - Day #1 - All About Keto!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Join me right here on Steemit over the next several weeks as a I put eating Keto to the test and go above and beyond with an active lifestyle that anyone can try going into the new 2018 year.

Lets jump right into it! The Ketogenic diet is known as being a low carbohydrate, high fat diet in which the body produces ketones in the liver to be used as energy. Ketosis is a natural process that the body initiates when food intake is low, producing ketones from the breakdown of fats in the liver . The goal of a ketogenic diet is get the body into this metabolic state. We don't do this by limiting calories, but by limiting carbohydrates.

Screenshot2018-01-02at2.24.44PM.jpg

There are many benefits to a keto diet, from weight loss and increased energy levels to medical applications. A low-carb, high-fat diet can be beneficial to most anyone.

Major Benefits of A Keto Diet:

  1. Weight Loss
  2. Control Blood Sugar
  3. Mental Focus
  4. Increased Energy & Normalized Hunger
  5. Epilepsy Treatment
  6. Cholesteral & Blood Pressure Management
  7. Insulin Resistance
  8. Acne Control

In some cases, a ketogenic diet has been put in place to help children with autism, people suffering from cancer , and even people with end stage organ failure.

My Journey Begins:

I have chosen to convert to the Keto diet with the support of my loving fiance, who has been experimenting with this diet for short and medium lengths of time ( 5-21 days each) over the course of the past six months. He has personally experienced many benefits when adhering to this nutrition plan , including : increased clarity of mind, weight loss, normalized hunger and decrease in cravings, clearer skin, healthier hair, and a steadier energy drive.

In preparation for this change, we have created a meal plan for the week, purchased our groceries, and i have installed a nutrition tracker which i will be closely monitoring to ensure that our nutrition needs are met. This diet is not a huge change for us, because we already limited gluten , grains, sugars, high fructose corn syrup, and msg in our diet.

19642304_1963275117031308_8731000154959241835_n.jpg

For me, i anticipate the biggest challenge of the diet to be staying away from sweets! I love my fruits!! I am not trying to lose any weight from this diet, I am trying to maintain my current body weight, as well as continue to train my strength and flexibility. I would however, like to focus on working on my abs and toning my body overall :)

For more info on a keto diet, check out https://www.ruled.me/keto-diet/ . This site is an amazing resource, and is where i got most of my information for this article , and for my diet ;)

Follow me to see what i eat in a day, and watch my progress on this journey! If you have any questions, or comments, let me know- i would be happy to share my insights!

Thanks so much for reading and best of luck in your new years goals, whatever they may be!!

Brightest Blessings!
SO MUCH LOVE!!
Evening Star

Sort:  

A great post about how to live healthy!

Here's a quote from the author @eveningstar92:

For me, i anticipate the biggest challenge of the diet to be staying away from sweets!

Me too! Sweets are yummy!

Thank you @eveningstar92 for your continued work within the community by bringing knowledge and health to the Steemit space.

-The Beached Whale

Screenshot 2017-07-24 at 10.50.28 PM.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65686.10
ETH 2943.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73