Please help little Lottie!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

I have decided to post this as about 3 months ago I went along to a fundraiser for little Lottie which my Sister helped to organise. I was touched by the appeal to help Lottie and my Sister asked whether there was anything I could do to help. At the time, I did what I could. I made a donation, I posted fundraiser information on my Facebook page and on my tumbler blog. I have no idea whether that made any impact at all, but I'd like to think that at the very least people shared my posts and that in some way I helped spread the word.

I recently went to see my parents for Fathers day and my Mum gave me an update on the appeal. They have so far raised £55,465 towards the appeal, but they still have a long way to go! It suddenly occurred to me that there was something I could do for little Lottie now and that was to post here on Steemit!

Please help Little Lottie!

Lottie was diagnosed with high risk neuroblastoma when she was just 2 ½ years old and so far, has responded well to an extensive treatment regime including chemotherapy and high dose chemotherapy followed by a stem cell transplant. Lottie has undergone a number of procedures, including major surgery as part of her treatment plan and has got through it. She has been very ill and a recent sepsis meant a transfer to PICU at St. George’s hospital but Lottie has made amazing recoveries and advances. Although surgery successfully removed the entire primary tumour, Lottie still needs radiotherapy and immunotherapy, which is hoped, will bring her into remission. Unfortunately, Lottie’s tumour has MYCN markers which pre-dispose her to be especially susceptible to a relapse. Whilst the prospect of a relapse is extremely real for Lottie, Lottie and her family remain ever positive and prepared to fight, supported and surrounded by the whole family.

Lottie’s fundraising campaign

High-risk neuroblastoma has a high rate of relapse, and the survival rate for relapsed neuroblastoma is very low. Relapsed neuroblastoma is particularly challenging to treat and there are limited options to treat it; all of which exist in the form of clinical trials in the UK and oversees. Many families, just like Lottie’s, will choose for their child to access a clinical trial, in the hope of preventing a dangerous relapse, or, to get their child back in to remission.

Accessing a clinical trial oversees is not NHS funded and can cost hundreds of thousands of pounds. Supporting Team Lottie’s fundraising campaign will help to ensure that, if Lottie’s family choose for her to access a clinical trial abroad as part of her cancer therapy, that they are able to realise their aspirations for their little girl.

The above information was taken from the following source and you can make a donation directly from that web page.

Please click here to see the website!.

Please also see her facebook page below where there are more details of other ways to make donations by phone or by text!

Click here to see her facebook page.

Please re-steem this post and share it on other social platforms. Please also feel free to share her facebook page so that more people can help out in anyway they can.

Please note that if I earn any Steem Dollars from this post I will be donating the money to her appeal. Any suggestions on how I can cover the additional Steem power gained from this post would be welcome. It is a shame that Steemit do not have a charity rewards option. Like 50% Steem Dollars / 50% Charity or even better a 100% Charity option.

I have not included a picture of Little Lottie to this post as my Sister advised that her family would prefer to limit the amount of times that her picture is posted on the web.

Red Tree.jpg

Sort:  

Ok, well my post did not make a lot! Here is proof of my reward:
reward proof.JPG
Thank you to everyone who upvoted!

As that was such a small reward, there is no point in me trying to withdraw it, so instead I have made a donation of £10 to help Little Lottie:
Payment proof.JPG
Perhaps I don't have the followers yet to make a difference. However people can still make donations using the above links. My donation came out of my Paypal account, but you can also donate by text if you prefer: text LWJJ86 and your amount £1 – £10 to 70070.

Please feel free to re-steem the above post maybe this will make a difference over the long term. Thanks everyone! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55