I am a Hoarder!

in #life6 years ago

IMG_3314.jpg

You have seen the TV-show Hoarders, right? I'm not that bad, but I have a horrible tendency to gather all sorts of junk into to my apartment. I blame it on my genes, and that I was born during the recession in the early 90s, the fault cannot be in my own actions, no no.



I have lived in this tiny apartment for 5 years now, so I have had good time to gather a lot of shit in here. I'm moving in three weeks so it's finally time to go through everything and get rid of a lot of junk. I have done some closet clean-ups during the years, but it's not enough. I need a thorough inspection of everything I own and need to discard a lot of useless stuff.

Do I need all those once used Christmas paper gift bags? NO. Do I need a handful of spare buttons from clothing I haven't even owned in years? NO. How about a kilos worth of costume jewellery when I only wear pieces that have sentimental value? The cheap metal can go to trash, bye.

I did find a few gems in the depths of my grafting/junk storage. Below is a picture my sister made years ago. She took the picture and photoshopped moose antlers to my head, and if you look closely, there is my sister with an umbrella on the left antler, and my little brother and dad sit next to each other. Mom is missing from this collage so I think my sister did have an idea to re-do this at some point and make it a proper family picture. It's funny that I can even recognise all the trees, I know exactly where every single one of them are.

Another gem I found is a first generation iPod! I'm pretty sure it still works, though I couldn't find a charger for it. I loved this very dearly, and this is where the love for Apple products began for me, and they have never failed me. They are the most durable things in personal technology, so I have found. This little piece is all crooked because I once slammed it between a car door, and it has gotten wet, scratched and beaten up in every way possible, and still works!

IMG_3309.JPG

IMG_3306.JPG

Now I'll attack another part of the apartment and start throwing things out!

Sort:  

I love those hearts in your old iPod :D

I was a hoarder too... but now that we are moving I am obsessed with getting rid of stuff to the point where I am worried we won't have anything left hahaha!

Haha, but it's good to start fresh! I'm planning on leaving all the old Ikea furniture behind and look for antique ones to the new place.

Congratulations @eveuncovered! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97