Road Trip, Test Driving and Local Treats

in #life5 years ago

A45D8B36-FD75-42ED-8E45-7AA191E9A1F4.jpeg

Today you are getting a very rare kind of post from me, a day in my life, completed with iPhone snapshots. Don’t get used to it, I won’t be doing this often.

Yesterday my mom came to pick me up from the city so we drive all the way down to Lappeenranta, which is near the Russian border, only 200 kilometers from St. Petersburg. I’ve never been to Lappeenranta before, but I’ve been meaning to explore my home country more. Though there wasn’t much time to get to know a new city, as we mostly spend the time in there inside a car dealership, and only popped by at the harbour for lunch.

Our business in Lappeenranta was to go and test drive a car and if it was any good, buy it. Living in the countryside, having a car is down right essential for survival, and mom was in dire need of an upgrade. I was excited to test drive the new car, which is sooo much better than the over 10 years old one she’s had, which was for a time, my car also.

Once the car business was sorted, we headed down to the harbour to try a local treat, Vety. My friend is from Lappeenranta and had just posted a picture of Vety in Instagram and I had asked her what is it, and only couple weeks after, I got to taste it. Vety and it’s brother Atomi, are a sort of meat pie or hot dog type of hefty treat, traditional to Lappeenranta. My friend said Satama-Sanni is the place to go for the authentic experience, and the car dealers vouched for the place too.

Vety and Atomi get their names from hydrogen and atomic bombs, because they pack a punch! I took Vety, which has smoked ham, boiled egg, garlic mayo, sweet pickle relish, onions, ketchup and mustard. It was delicisious, and maybe tasted better because I was starving, but good nonetheless.

Then it was time to hop back into the car(s) and drive back north, we still had over 300 kilometers to go. Luckily I got to sleep a little on the way to Lappeenranta, because now we had two cars to drive home so no nap time for me. I got to drive the new car home and while I like driving, it started to get pretty dull after a while because I couldn’t drive fast. Driving according to speed limits is so boring I had to do my best to entertain myself with an audiobook, music and a few phonecalls.

We made it home at 10pm, which was earlier than I thought, but it had been a long day and I’m still tired from it. Now I need to go cook for the family!

Later today, of the sunset looks nice, I’ll head out with the good camera, I can’t stand these iPhone photos.

6D4CC1DA-6692-4D1F-8AAF-3E6EBA4DC59E.jpeg

B045AF0C-2D8B-4C60-B80A-75874DD0219B.jpeg

0E11CC6E-22BD-4AF1-8882-4F99A08532A5.jpeg

379805EE-6156-46FA-8F74-7AE72E6F9BA5.jpeg

D0AD517D-1D49-4A03-A6D0-6585E7ACF7A2.jpeg

Sort:  

That arbor looks like a really beautiful place.

Thanks for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97