Where I Belong

in #life6 years ago

varpi2.jpg

This forest land is my heart, my home. This is where I breathe easy and be free.

The moss covered forest floor, softening big boulders and gently tucking the bare land under its warm green embrace. The little creeks that run from a lake to another, pure and uninterrupted. The dark blue surface of the lake, dotted by little islands.

Places where all I see is beauty, not having to look for it. Not having to actively look for the pretty parts like I have to do in the city. Crop out all the ugly and zoom in on the little nice detail.

varpi.jpg

I’m only a visitor in the concrete jungle and it will never feel like home.

I’ve lived in an average size Finnish city for almost the past seven years, yet it has never felt like a home. It’s a feeling I can not shake off, a mix of suppression, claustrophobia, distaste and the overwhelming urge to run away from it. There is so much ugliness in the city, forcing you to witness it where ever you look.

I do like visiting new cities, and some are very beautiful, but there is too much people and not enough space. Even when you are ”home” alone, there is another human very close to you, under, over, of to the side, just a wall between.

Living in the city is a sort of an act, pretend play. Hey look at us, going to the coffee shop and running without aim, look at me acting important, look at us playing our parts in the drama. Exit stage left.

ole2.jpg

A modern terra nullius, no man’s land.

You are always in someone elses territory when you are in the city, no part of it truly belongs to you. I don’t like that feeling. You are on borrowed land, on borrowed time.

I need a place that I know is mine, or at least someone I know, bordered not by a wire and concrete fence, but on a map and treated with respect.

All the forests belongs to someone too, but you can use it if you treat it with respect. There are rules, but no fences barring you from walking in there and enjoying all the beauty nature has to offer. Even when the land in the forest is not mine, it feels like it is. I can walk in it, I can pick berries and mushrooms, I can take pictures of it, I can be uninterrupted. No other human in sight, nobody to tell me I can’t do that, I can’t take a picture of that or I can’t climb in there.

ekaa8.jpg


There is good and bad in both, but the older I get, the more I am convinced that I belong into the wild.

Sort:  

Places where all I see is beauty
I belong into the wild.

A sense of freedom , where no one can judge . where you don't have to be one of the crowd . conforming to a set of standards set by the hussel and bussel of the concrete/societies environment .

At peace just enjoying the sounds , surroundings and sights .

The wolf knows what I'm talking about ;)

I love this piece. It speaks to me as I am very much like this, a natural forest dweller at heart trapped in a life of cold, hard, impersonal imperfection.

I miss living in the mountains where my home was for six years. I miss the sound of streams, the smell of horses, Guinea Fowl calling in the morning, mountain baboons talking over valleys and the silhouette of the mountain at sunset.

I grew up outside of a small city called Kimberley which started as mining town after the discovery of the world's largest diamond which was cut up and the pieces fitted into the crown of the queen of England.

I spent my life in the bushveld surrounding where I grew up and think that my soul never became tame.

I love this piece

Oh sounds like an amazing place!

It was and is missed with fond memories. Looking forward to your next piece

I understand how you feel, this is why I never moved to London.. I could have had a better career with a much better income, but i could never handle living in that concrete jungle.. it goes on for miles, at least here in Edinburgh there are some big parks nearby that helps you with the claustrophobia .. and you can get out of the city pretty quickly.

I would love some land to call my own...

I bet London is extremely expensive to live in also! Edinburgh seems so lovely and kinda homey even if it is a big city, I really need to come visit some time!

Oh yeah, London is crazy expensive.. they charge rent per week instead of month to make it seem less expensive .. but in reality you pay per week there for a one bedroom flat what you would pay per month for a two bedroom in Edinburgh.. it ridiculous.

You should visit! And when you do, you'll have a local guide :) All it will cost you is a cocktail ;) lol

I know how you feel I currently live in nyc after living in the French alps for ten years it’s pretty heart breaking and I really miss the peace and no judgement that is in nature.
No discrimination or hate. With nature it’s there or not there!! I love how it discriminates no one.

That is a really huge change in scenery! Why did you move to NYC?

I was offered work that I could not refuse. It’s a good job am actually a chef the difference being I now work for a family and work a lot less hours and not in a bunker!! Plus I get to travel a lot with them too so makes things very interesting. How is your day going??? I would love to visit Finland 🇫🇮 one day!!!

So you are a personal chef, that's really cool. I'm sure it beats working in a regular restaurant kitchen every day!

My day is going pretty good, got to enjoy some nice sunny weather and work has been going on pretty nicely today :)

Sweet good to know once again i love the honesty of your photos what you see is what you get!! Wonderful talent that you have!!!!

The cool soft breeze,
The chipping of birds,
The smell of soft moist grass
Feeling the gentle touch of nature is the elixir of life.

Beautiful!! I can relate so much to everything you describe and the images, their concept and realization, are adding so wonderfully to the narration.

Thanks for giving me a warm and fuzzy feeling on the inside :D

Thanks for your good post about visit jungle @eveuncovered

I was in NYC a few weeks ago, terrible. I don't know how anyone lives like that much less why they spend a fortune to do so.

I really wanna visit NYC some time but even staying for a couple nights seems to be extremely expensive!

It's cool to see the places that you have seen in movies and TV all your life but for me it is a very claustrophobic place. Driving there is a white knuckle affair as well.

I hate driving even in a small city! I am a good driver but driving in the city is just stop and go every few meters, it sucks!

Hola @eveuncovered
Excelente tu reflexión.
Estamos de paso y todo lo que tenemos es prestado.
De hecho yo también pertenezco a la naturaleza. De allí vengo y para allá iré.
Saludos y Gracias por el artículo.

Si si, claro, gracias. I don't speak Spanish, lol.

That’s exactly the way I feel too - most at home when I am outside in nature, I could never write it so beautifully though. Thank you

Aww thank you very much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95