Vlog 202: The STEEM blockchain is a success when Steemit.com is dwarfed by other projects on the STEEM blockchain.

in #life6 years ago (edited)


I had a lot of fun listening to the interview Alex Sterk had with @heimindanger (d.tube) and Ned Scott (CEO Steem inc). You can find the interview here.

The title of this post was mentioned at the end of the interview.


Here are some of the highlights I really liked.

  • D.tube at the moment is taking about 6% of the 'traffic' of the STEEM blockchain.

  • D.tube is growing every day and the ongoing demonetization on youtube is helping in that department :)

  • About 10% of the 25% rewards that they ask for content created on d.tube goes to the payment of IPFS. It cost about 4 cents per gigabit. Some videos are already paid for till 2030.


  • Ned confirmed that STEEM will be the main trading pair against SMT's.

  • New SMT's will have therefore access to instant liquidity.

  • Phase 2 of the SMT paper is already being worked on while phase 1 is being developed/build.

  • In 5 years time, the vision is to have 100.000 entrepreneurs and businesses on the blockchain.

(To me, this shows long-term vision and another reason to invest in the blockchain for years.)

I talk about it more in my vlog.



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

One concern I have with all these other platforms popping up, is that they seem to flood Steemit with content which can hardly be compared to the well written articles we find here. Take Steepshot, for example. It's an Instagram-like platform where you can share photos and get some revenue for it. That's great! But at the same time, when I browse Steemit, I'm mainly looking for articles, and stumbling upon images from Steepshot is basically like stumbling upon a Steemit article with no text, so while it would make sense for me to upvote picture content while browsing Steepshot, I am hesitant to to upvote Image-only posts on Steemit, even if the action and rewards are basically the same. Do you know what I mean? At the same time, I'm not sure if I would have it any other way. I think it's kind of cool that Steemit shows anything connected to STEEM.

I realize that writing all of this would be kind of pointless without a conclusion, so what I would like, is an option on Steemit to only show content created on Steemit (or busy.org).

Also, I wish D.Tube had an option to play videos on Steemit, rather than having to navigate to d.tube.

I disagree slightly.

Steemit, in my eyes, is supposed to be more than just a mere blogging site; it's supposed to be a social media and a platform for content creators of all types to post their work.

Social media nowadays is more about photos than blogs and articles anyway.

Alienating photographers would mean alienating a huge majority of social media users, and I don't feel that's a very good gameplan for Steemit's long-term future.

We need to remember than a lot of people enjoy photos more than articles. People are different and value is subjective.

Photos are indeed a huge part of social media, and I'll admit that even I sometimes like browsing pictures better than reading long pieces. I'm very inclined to using STEEM-based social medias, but I am hesitant, since I know everything I post will be published on my Steemit wall. Also, when I browse D.Tube and subscribe to someone, I want to subscribe to their videos and not necessarily all of their family photos.

While Steemit is a great way to explore anything on the STEEM blockchain and in that way serves as a full social media, rather than just a blogging platform, Porter's generic strategies teaches us that prioritizing everything is always outperformed by focusing on one thing, simply because it will not be best at anything.

I kind of see Steemit adapting a lifecycle similar to Facebook, where users end up posting their photos on Instagram rather than on Facebook and their videos on YouTube rather than on Facebook. Eventually, articles and blogs might be outsourced to separate STEEM-based apps, and in the end Steemit will just be a summary of everything every user has produced. Note that I don't necessarily see this as a bad scenario, though.

Maybe it will even strengthen Steemit as a social media. After all, those you want to follow on every platform are those you know and like to engage with.

Fun fact: I once had a plan to create a social media webpage which linked all social medias belonging to a single user together into one giant melting pot of a feed;)

Nice wikipedia reference.

Enjoyed reading yr opinion .

I do hope the images posted (here ) are required t/b a certain quality - it's hard on the eyes, some of the photos are a bit unclear/fuzzy. (am speaking here about blog posts on steemit that I've seen).

I wonder, if articles and blogs do get outsourced to separate #STEEM-based apps... will a certain RESOLUTION be mandated?

Thanks, I was pretty satisfied with the reference myself;)
I think in theory anyone can make Steem-based applications, so anyone with the skill, time and motivation could make a copy of steemit and just not show posts tagged with dtube, dmania, steepshot... Or maybe there could just be a menu where you could choose which platforms to filter out. I would love to try something like this myself in the not so distant future, once I learn more about the STEEM infrastructure.

I think Steemit should create separate website for blogging based on Medium.

Sounds like a cool project for 2018!

Yes, it would be a revolution is the blogging scene. I wrote an article about it.

You make some good points here. Appics will be a much better alternative to Steepshot in my opinion because we really need to separate the instagram type content from the blogs or the whole thing becomes a mess. Hopefully there will be more and more SMTs which will help to branch out the type of content we can have on the blockchain without getting in each others way

Appics seems intriguing!

Steem vision is all about collaboration in real time.

Each steemian brings their expertise to steem blockchain.

It could be posting, be a witness, a developer, organizer, the list will be too long.

Steem is the viable project that emphasize the community and it is LIVE.
Keep on steemin'

great post on steem😊

Thanks for sharing such an optimistic as well as far sighted post, about block chain system. Every time the great steemians like you have been working continueously for the development and progress of steemit community and it's people by providing new opportunity and informations to the people. The success of the system completely depends on your like people, we are nothing in this system, without you we have no any identity. I would like to offer my Heartful thanks to you for your great efforts.stay happy and healthy every day.

I key into the last point.
"in 5 years time, the vision is to have 100.000 entrepreneurs and businessess on the blockchain"

As a young female entrepreneur, i am working towards making this a success.
All thanks to @ned for the steem blockchain and @exyle thanks for this update.

Yes, that was an amazing interview.

"I think it's magical'! - Quote of the video!

And I'm pretty sure everyone agrees with you here. SMT's are beyond anything we can conceive right now...Imagine, 100,000 entrepreneurs....Hustlers...Busting their butts to create epic endeavors using this platform.

The future is so bright, and I'm just pinching myself that I got in when I did....You must be in heaven right now sir lol

Huge future for Steemit!

The STEEM blockchain is a success when Steemit.com is dwarfed by other projects on the STEEM blockchain.

Absolutely man, its just amazing to see different applications built on the steem blockchain and they're all performing well and gaining massive adoption.

From steepshot to DTube to Dlive, etc. They're all amazing projects and are making waves. People just love decentralization and it's really showing.

Talk about a good blockchain technology - yeah steem is very good. I think the scalability, no transaction fees and transaction speed makes it stand out from the rest.

Today it was amazing listening to the interview @heiditravels had with the Ceo of Bobs Repairs Frideric Prandecki, where he talked about how the zero transaction fees and 3 seconds transaction speed got him amazed and wowed and he's decided to develop and build his app on the Steem blockchain.

That's really shows that the steem blockchain is a success and more and more good news will keep springing up.

Happy Steeming

Reputation system and that it creates trust also makes it stand from the crowd! Since it then starts to work more as a tribe. With real value exchange!

I still can't imagine how SMTs will work and what will be developed around them - I hope they will be released soon anyway.

Excellent video friend and it's true dtube is no doubt a remarkable development on top of steem blockchain and now we can upload our videos directly on dtube without using any third party softwares and more great is that utopian.io now start accepting dtube videos and this improvement will surely attract more dtube user's and i am also so excited to see the launch of SMT & communities, both these development surely give more strength to steem blockchain, thanks for sharing your nice thoughts with us, Stay awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75