An unexpected discovery in the the valley of temptation.

in #life6 years ago

Yesterday, Bianca and I went to the cinema for the second time this week to watch 'The shape of water'.

The first time we tried to see it we could go straight back home because the digital ticket machines were broken and nobody who worked there knew what to do anymore.

When things like this happen I'm always reminded how sensitive modern society is to these failures of modern equipment and how clueless we are without them.

But no biggie, these things happen.

So we went yesterday again and everything was working this time.

We got our tickets and then came the hardest part of the journey.

We had to walk through the valley of temptation.

We are both on Steemfat 3.


IMG_1584.jpg


The valley of temptation is literally a valley in our cinema.

Most cinema rooms are located upstairs and from there you can look down on the grand canyon of snacks and drinks.

The section in the photo is the particular weakness of our block-brother @eqko who loves candy.


Snapseed.jpg


We had some nice cod fish for dinner but of course I was already starving.

This always happens.

Nacho's, hotdogs, candy, m&m's, chocolate, chips and popcorn, anything is allowed in the valley of temptation and its ruthless.

The colours and the smells, o man!

You can see a slight fear in Bianca's eyes. Will we make it Mark?

I said, 'be strong'.


IMG_1582.jpg


We began.

30 seconds into our journey we come across this. My favourite stall of all and the best cinema snack in the world. Popcorn.


Snapseed 3.jpg


I immediately turned my head, closed my eyes and held my breath.

This was the hardest part.

And then....

then....I banged into something and I opened my eyes!


dwadwadwad.jpg


I had discovered a vegetarian resupply station!

Wow! I had never seen this before.

I called Bianca over and showed her the food my food eats.

She was Ecstatic! 'We can eat this', she said!

Great!

After carefully contemplation my options I went for the rabbit food in a plastic container and Bianca had a fruit salad.

I must admit I was happy I had something to munch on later.

We also bought 2 sparkling waters.

But when I got to my seat it wasn't the same.

My hand was uncontrollable looking for a box filled with the best snack in the world.

I was a broken man.


Snapseed.jpg


I had to be strong.

When the movie started I opened my plastic container and grabbed a carrot.

Stuck it in my mouth and then...

I must admit it wasn't bad.

I started to settle down and was enjoying my faith.

3 minutes later the box was empty.

That was a letdown.

It's certainly not the same quantity for the same amount of money.

But we did survive!

And I was proud.

O and the movie, the movie was awesome!



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

@exyle,
"I started to settle down and was enjoying my faith."
That's actually not that bad! I think it's time to prepare more for STEEMFAT 3!

Cheers~

Wow, this is super awesome, you overcame.

I like the part you said to Bianca " be strong.

I give you big tops for overcoming today, tomorrow the fight continues.

that is indeed " The Valley Of Temptation " everything looks great from the naked eye and glad you guys got to enjoy your time.

it's nice to see you and bianca again going to watch a movie in cinema and no doubt it's great way to release some stress and gain back all the lost freshness, i really like your snack choices especially fruit salad is my favorite, thanks for sharing your outing moments with us friend and wish you a fantastic week ahead, Stay awesome

I can completely understand how you felt. At the end you didn’t let it beat you. If you did get this “delicious” things, your u would have fel guilt afterwards. Sometime me and my wife try to be the same, we resist for so long, but eventually you have to enjoy yourself once in a while. I know we always jag it out.

Yes, you are right. It's about finding the balance.

I am surprised you were able to find healthy food there. It is really the valley of temptation to pass all that tempting food and desiring it and yet want to be strong. So proud of you! Awesome.

This is making me want to go see a movie, but my school examinations would not let me. “The shape of water” sounds like it’ll be a sad but at the same time thrilling movie... I don’t know I just want to go to the movies, grab a bowl of popcorn and have fun 😭😭.
Like I always say...
If you use an iPhone, please download the steemify application..you’ll enjoy the steemit platform better 😀
The fun part to me is that it shows me the percentage of upvote a person gives to me hahahaha. It’s a free application by the ways 😀

Haha, broken man, I chuckled.

Sounds good. Did you know that popcorn is actually not that bad if you get the plain old salted nonsense? Not that I am trying to throw temptation in your way or abything for next time ... ;O)

It's the only popcorn I really like tbh. Plain, with a bit of salt. Not much fan of the sweet stuff. Although I'm not sure what else they put in there. Cinema popcorn always taste better than the one at home :)

Hehe, that's true, at home I always easy it and wonder what's missing

well done you two! if you can survive the cinema, you can survive anywhere in my opinion! Awesome they're starting to stock options for folks wanted healthier options as well... cheering you both on as always!

well done for resisting the valley of temptation. I can't believe how huge it is! I've never seen so much "food" on offer at the pictures. That must be where all the money is made!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84