Discovering an unknown beer brewery in Rotterdam with Bianca.

in #life6 years ago

The weather has been beautiful but cold in the Netherlands for a while now.

This night it will be -7c which is pretty cold for Dutch standards.

(But, of course, it's a far cry from what I have seen in some of the Canadian Steemians postings. -25c crazy!)

To my surprise, Bianca wanted to do something fun today. Instead of staying in.

I say to my surprise because very cold weather and Bianca don't always go hand in hand :)

She's from Brazil.

We googled some places and then found a small Dutch brewery in Rotterdam that we never checked out.

It's called the Pilgrim and it's located in a part of Rotterdam that wasn't bombed during the war so it still has all the old buildings.

We decided to go there with the bus and metro because that's, in general, a smart idea when you go visit a brewery.


IMG_1799.jpg


Before we went anywhere we went to the gym first. I was very proud of Bianca because she gained 3KG of muscle since we started again. I somehow managed to lost 0,5kg. The workout was great. I already have all the strength back that I lost.


ddd.jpg


The part of Rotterdam we went to is called Delfshaven and the Metro station there has this pattern on the wall. The sign says 'greetings from Delfshaven'.


IMG_1800.jpg


Comming out of the Metro it's instantly clear that the architecture here is totally different from the center of Rotterdam which is much more modern.


IMG_1802.jpg


We had to walk for 5 minutes and then we came across this tunnel. The Pilgrim should be on the other side!


IMG_1804.jpg


The other side of the tunnel looked like this. A harbor with beautiful old buildings on either side. The weather was stunning.


IMG_1805.jpg


We saw the Pilgrim straight away but we had to cross this old bridge first.


IMG_1806.jpg


And there she was! City brewery: The Pilgrim!


IMG_1808.jpg


The moment you enter the door you are hit by that smell that can be only one thing. Beer is being brewed here! I always think it smells delicious.


IMG_1811.jpg


The Brewery has an amazing atmosphere. Warm and Cozy.


IMG_1814.jpg


They had a nice selection of beers to choose from. Bianca wanted a white beer and I went straight for the motherload. Armada rum barrel aged beer!


IMG_1812.jpg


O yes! What an amazing beer. Very dark, almost no foam. Not extremely thick like some BA beers. Rum flavor very noticeable and an amazingly long finish. Not the lightests at 11%. Basically a beer you want to come back for!


IMG_1815.jpg


On the menu was a platter. I asked the guy there what that meant. He said it's basically a selection of everything we have to offer. I decided to go with it. 10 minutes later he comes back with this! I can't ask for more....what an amazing place! I was so happy.


IMG_1816.jpg


I also had a taste of the Russian Imperial Stout, which was extremely good and we finished up with a little lighter beer. A beer called the Stoom bier (Steam beer). Seemed appropriated :)


IMG_1826.jpg


I will definitely want to come back here. Show this to the blockbrothers guys and also @fabrews.

I had a great sunday!



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

The moment you enter the door you are hit by that smell that can be only one thing. Beer is being brewed here! I always think it smells delicious.

It doesn’t only look delicious it smells delicious. The city of Rotterdam looks amazing. If I ever get a chance to visit this beautiful city I will definitely stop by at the City brewery: The Pilgrim!
I bet you had a wonderful time with Bianca.

wow amazing place indeed friend and it's nice to see you and bianca really enjoy your sunday by visiting unique place and it is no doubt great way to release some stress and gain back some lost freshness, the thing i really like about that place is it's architecture, the buildings are old but they are looking so cool and attractive, thanks for sharing your sunday moments with us friend and wish you a fantastic week ahead, Stay blessed

Ufff my friend @exyle, everything looks amazing. I loved the town, the brewery and the food (especially the food, I love eat hahaha). It'd be great to get to know places like this. The only thing that makes me think about whether or not to go, is the temperature of -7c, since I am accustomed in Venezuela to temperatures not lower than 16c hahaha.

Thanks for sharing!! Greetings and a hug :)

Oh my ... that platter of delicious food and the Motherload of all Beer, what could possibly go wrong. All I can says is wow. And I thought I saw STEEM beer and I look at the name of the beer again and it was Steam Beer lol. And you look good in the picture @exyle.

Awesome photos and nice shots of the beautiful places in Rotterdam

brewery beer really good.because Bianca share beer of with u. its really good time of u. you spend good moment of bianca with good beer.netherland is a good city.now winter season this nice place.all place very beautifull. i hope you sharing your good time spending of bianca.enjoy this moment.its good memories of u.. Amsterdam very nice.best luck of u.good day sir.thank u very much for ur good posting... @exyle

So cold out there you did the right thing to find it perfect way to enjoy the day :D

Very dark, almost no foam. Not extremely thick like some BA beers. Rum flavor very noticeable and an amazingly long finish. Not the lightests at 11%.

I just tasted it with your detailed description. I love beers, I think beers is one of the greatest invention man ever made to relieve stress. LoL.

Super amazing and beautiful shots to look at this is incredibly amazing wow :)

What a treat and what a little gem you found! Perfect day out - trying new local beers and getting a feast good enough for a king! The Armada sounds amazing with the hints of rum in there, we're surprised you didn't come stumbling out of the brewery 😜 You can handle your drink

Geesh crist, Mark @exyle that looks scrumptious ( the Platter) !! Sounds like you two had a fabulous Sunday. Beautiful here in South Texas . Sunny and 75 degrees. But I would have traded my day for that beer and food, fer sure lol

upvote follow bunny.gif

The day was awesome but I can't wait for that warmer summer weather! I guess you can't always get what you want (straight away) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85