Vlog 226: When steemit.com is down the power of the blockchain becomes clear!

in #life6 years ago


This morning I could not access steemit.com.

I was shown this.


Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 10.11.59.png


If it was any other centralised website this would be the end. All you can do is wait for the website to come back up to access your data and your funds.

But this is not the case with the Steem blockchain.

Because Steemit.com is not the same as the Steem blockchain!

Steemit.com is just a website that allows you to communicate with the Steem blockchain.

But there are many other ways you can do this.

So this morning I went to busy.org, logged in, and communicated with the blockchain by answering comments and up-voting, using their front end.

I could also access all my data and funds.


Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 10.23.56.png


I could also have communicated with the blockchain using Esteem or Chainbb for instance.

This is the power of a blockchain that is decentralised.

A lot needs to happen before this thing is not accessible.

I talk about it more in my vlog.



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Love Busy! First thing I did when I saw those errors (other than freak out LOL) was remind myself that the blockchain doesn't just 'go down' because of the decentralization and awesome work of the witnesses.

Took me a second to tell myself to relax LOL

But then went right to Busy and checked everything....Good to go! Different interfaces for different markets. Crossing my fingers about the SMT's and all the potential that will have...Love it.

They should seriously add some information about that Gateway problem. What it is and why it happens and if they are working on a solution. Because I think this is the third time I have seen it! And when it happens you Google for a solution and there is only other Steemit links that are down for the moment.

We need a website that all can go to and write on when the Steemit website goes down! Like a website dedicated for this. Now we only have services like "Is it down" but they are usually filled with spammy ads or comes with bad user interface. We need one that is dedicated to Steemit only. Also Busy dot org is flawed since you can't use a slider when you are voting. It only seems to be supporting 100% upvotes. Which is a disaster for people with high Steem Power!

There is a slider. It's in the settings menu. There is nothing flawed about it.


Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 11.29.00.png


Thanks for letting me know about it!

Hmmm Interesting. Slider seems to work for me at Busy. Can't wait until I get it at Steemit.com LOL

Yeah I think all this stuff will come once the platform (steemit) grows. I remember how lost I was when I first joined, so the more information they can put out to help newer Steemians the better.

Especially when those errors show up. But once you 'get' what it all means, the blockchain etc....You aren't too concerned when a website goes down.

Yes! Btw can you show how your slider looks on Busy? Since I can't remember seeing one when I clicked like there but it just instantly pulled a 100% upvote.

what is the reason?

think, understand, and form judgements logically.
"humans do not reason entirely from facts"
synonyms: think rationally, think logically, think straight, use one's mind, use one's common sense, use one's head, use one's brain, think things through,

@exyle, this is so profound, i never knew blockchain isn't the same with steem.com, i noticed steem.com is down also in the morning and could not log in.

Steemit.com is now one of the most visited site in the world. It is found among the first 1000 websites being visited, i guess that's the reason for the lost connection.

Now, i now know how to go around it. Thanks my man @exyle.

@exyle,
Did you noticed STEEMIT hits 1,000 at Alexa ranking today! I can remember once you said if STEEMIT down we can use Busy.Org! Excellent and very informative article!

Cheers~

I’ve learnt something new about the blockchain....again!! Thanks for the info buddy, this allows me to put even more trust in Steem and it’s future :)

Man, the amount of time I use your posts to explain stuff to people! This one will be in my 'dummy' folder under 'blockchain benefits'.

The cold air makes me want to go ice skating btw :-)

Thank you! It's going to be even colder later this week. People have already started to sharpen their ice skates.

My nephew is devastated because the ice skates he bought with his very first longtime savings (the guy is now 14 years old) a few years back no longer fit him... used them once, he's considering cycling and bowling now :'D

I totally agree...Blockchain technology as a decentralized entity is a good solution to handle single point of failure, the Blockchain has a collection of member nodes , even if one fails other will still be operating normally with multiple "nodes”" with the Blockchain acting as a consensus mechanism to ensure those nodes stay in sync... Hence ,Blockchain technology handles extreme fault tolerance, which stems from their built in redundancy. A true revolutionizing technology with immense potential to change the world.

Great post! I started following you, great content about how steemit works. Every week I start to love blockchain technology a bit more.
Steem is gonna own Facebook!

@exyle I never panic at all when I see the 504. I know that their are as you stated so many other ways to access our accounts. It is a blessing to be a part of the ever growing decentralized world. I dream about when we no longer need Big Brother in our lives...............

OH no shit an EXPERT, well fuckin A why didn't you say so skippy that changes everything, count me all in Bit Boy !!!

/Sarc

Thats very comforting because if it was a centralized system it would be disastrous should the whole system shut down.

Excellent video friend and i agree with your thoughts that's the power of steem blockchain, now we have many frontends and we can access to steem blockchain from any frontend, well all these are developments on top of steem blockchain and it strengthened the blockchain even more, busy.org is also my favorite frontend after steemit and whenever i see steemit.com down i use busy and busy.org is fantastic and it also has many cool features which won't even exist in steemit, thanks for sharing your knowledge with us friend and wish you a fantastic weekend ahead, Stay blessed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20