Making a lasagna from scratch on the Big Green Egg. It worked beautifully!

in #life7 years ago

I don't like throwing food away. So after coming home today from Belgium I collected all the leftovers and decided to make a lasagna with them. Using the Big Green Egg every step of the way.

Total Freestyle.


me


This is what I managed to find in the house. Pasta leafs, ground beef, garlic, paprika, onions, corn, open can of tomato sauce, chorizo sausage leftover and half a bag of grated cheese.


FullSizeRender 3.jpg


Lighting the Green egg is a pleasure. Every time!


FullSizeRender 12.jpg


Grilled the vegetables to give them a nice grill flavour. I put the chorizo to grill too.


FullSizeRender 13.jpg


Cut everything up and set aside for later


FullSizeRender 8.jpg


I put in the the convector plate because I want to to use the BGE as an oven. (not a grill)


FullSizeRender 7.jpg


The next part was a gamble. I put the meat with garlic and oil in a Dutch oven and put it on the BGE.


FullSizeRender 9.jpg


It worked beautifully and the meat was cooked in no time. I added the sauce and vegetables.


FullSizeRender 2.jpg


Video...O yeah!



I got the sauce of the BGE and regulated the temp to be 180C. I started building the lasagna.


FullSizeRender 11.jpg


And it's ready to go on


FullSizeRender 5.jpg


40 minutes later!


FullSizeRender 6.jpg


Video, listen to that bubbling!



Final result!


FullSizeRender 2.jpg

FullSizeRender 4.jpg



signature Follow Me @exyle

Sort:  

You are quickly turning into a Green Egg Master! I'm the one in the house who always eats the left overs(the wife & kids always want something new), as I also hate wasting any food. I usually will grill any leftovers that's "grillable" b/c I feel I can give it a different flavor and curb the monotony of eating the same thing. Plus, it gives me a good reason to fire up the grill. I'm going to try your lasagna approach. I've never thought of that before. Great idea.

It's really fun to try new and unusual things on a grill. This project turned out much better than expected!

No waste! You also doubled your valuable time by showing us your cooking skill. In many ways, I try to mimic your style. Thanks!

It's an efficient way to spend time :). I like the whole process though. Cooking, making photos and blogging.

Wow you need to get an endorsement deal from the green egg company! I want that lasagna in my belly!

Lol

lol, wouldn't that be something! :)

Amazing.. that looks insanely delicious..always make me hungry.

You now need to make some for everyone :)

Man were you a chef in a restaurant or..?
God damn it i want to eat again lol.

Haha, no man I just like cooking. It usually tastes well but plating up I always find difficult.

Brilliant. I will watch the video now. A breather from all the cryptos and blogs. Sounds perfect for a Sunday. You are a non vegetarian so I will introduce you to some Bengali food later I am sure you'll love it.

I love to try new food!

Yummy!
Why do you post food
I always get hungry! Lol @exyle

L@@ks Super Good! Grilled vegetables in lasagna @exyle I'll have to try that ~ Dutch Oven a Great Invention...

It works very well!

Oh man! That looks so good. Never would have thought of lasagna on the grill. I grilled out steak and chicken on the Weber today and it was very good, but didn't look quite as good as your steaks. I will keep working on it. Think I left them on just a little too long.

Practice makes perfect man! As long as you know where you went wrong you be fine :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67