My Steem Monster investment: Epic gold foil cards - Buying cards vs Buying packs.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I like Steem Monsters for several reasons.

The first and most important reason. It's a lot of fun! I'm working on my own boss monster story, I like collecting/trading the cards, I like talking about Steem Monsters on discord with other enthusiasts.

Second, It's a project on the blockchain that is combinable with other platforms like dtube and dlive (video/live streaming of pack openings, giveaways and later the actual game matches) and steembay (auctioning of cards).

It just works so well.

Third, It's a project that has the potential to attract outside crypto into the Steem blockchain.

Fourth, besides fun it's a investment vehicle in the form of buying and selling cards. I'm currently a buyer of gold foil cards.


IMG_6454.jpg


Buying these cards is a bit of a gamble but I think it will pay off. The gamble is on several levels.

  1. Nobody knows if the game will actually work/become popular.
  2. Nobody knows yet what the actual value of these cards will turn out to be.

To see it all unfold from the start is a lot of fun. The market for cards is looking for direction.

I personally believe this game will work and that based on the rarity of these cards the value will go up in time.

Example: a couple of days ago I acquired all these cards for a good price.


Screen Shot 2018-06-20 at 09.58.18.png


These are Epic gold foil cards.

For those who don't know the order of the rarity in Steem Monster is as follows:

Common, rare, epic, legendary.

Because the whole game is public here are the droprates on the cards when opening a pack:

Normal Cards


Screen Shot 2018-06-20 at 09.49.13.png


Gold foil Cards


Screen Shot 2018-06-20 at 09.49.27.png


As you can see the change of getting a gold foil common is lower than getting a normal legendary.

When rounding off the percentages my reasoning for investing was as follows:

For legendaries


A normal legendary card has a drop rate of 1%. That is 1 in every 20 packs or 1 in every 100 cards.

20 packs = 40 USD and the legendaries currently go for around 15USD or 37,5% of the investment you have to make to get 1.

A gold foil legendary has a drop rate of 0.01%. That 1 in every 2000 packs or 1 in every 10000 cards.

2000 packs = 4000 USD and the legendaries currently go for around 300-500USD. 10~12,5% of the investment you have to make to get 1.

It feels like it could be a good investment but it's just a little too much for my liking. (I might regret this).

I got a much better deal on the Epics gold foils that I bought. So I went with it.


source - by @crittercrats.


For Epics


A normal epic card has a drop rate of 4,7%. That is 1 in every 4 packs or 1 in every 21 cards.

4 packs = 8 USD and the normal epics currently go for around 0,62USD or 7,75% of the investment you have to make to get 1.

A gold foil epic has a drop rate of 0.05%. That 1 in every 400 packs or 1 in every 2000 cards.

400 packs = 800 USD.

or 4000 packs = 8000 USD to get them all (if you are lucky to get 10 different ones).

I bought all 10 recently for 142 STEEM or $227 or 2,83% of of the investment you have to make to get a change on all 10.

A good deal or not? Time will tell.

Not that it matters because I will play with these cards because they look stunning!

Of course there are more factors I don't cover like the chance of getting other good cards if you went the investment of $8000.

I have not had the time to calculate all that yet.



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

Perfect choice for investment, my friend and besides, as you correctly noted, it is interesting and fun, therefore the purchase of Steem Monsters cards can greatly benefit the Steem blockchain and give us pleasure! Thanks Mark

I think your speculation will be proven right. You got cards 2000x rarer for only ~25x the marginal price.

I’m certainly not selling my golds at these bargain basement prices.

Mark @exyle I can't wait to see you as the BOSS Monster once the Games Begin !

And each time the power just keep on getting stronger than before so that's more fun to add to the steem monsters :D

I like all the calculations in this post.
How many packs in total did you buy?

It was definitely a good deal, unfortunately I'm not in a position where I can afford that type of investment, but it will payout as long as the developers keep doing their job and surprising us everyday!

For Gold Legendaries I think it still is a good deal, but I really love to analyse percentages and as you showed on the post, Epics (gold) are costing 7% while Legendaries (gold) 12% of the investment through packs.

Dear sir truly it's seems something interesting but I didn't understand what is these cards maybe I have to dig some more information about it.
Sir Steemify available on iOS only or in android too.
Good day.

Android is coming soon.

Wow thanks dear sir.

zoals steeds terug iets bijgeleerd...mag ik hopen dat je game/cards een succes mogen worden..alvast nog een prettige dag

Wow! Looks like you are getting quite the collection there! Plus you get to be a boss, so that is awesome too! I look forward to the official launch and seeing what SteemMonsters has to offer. I think it is going to be a really great addition to the platform!

That's amazing @exyle. That you have all those cards already.

i just checked mine and I have no epics or legendaries but I also have 8 packs unopened. I'm not sure what I'm waiting for but I like the idea of the mystery! 😂

My son is home at the weekend so I'm hoping he'll be able to explain the basics to me.

I also have 8 packs unopened.

You have iron will!

Nah. Just a very short attention span @exyle! 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69