Pastel and Caldo de Cana!

in #life6 years ago

IMG_9256.jpg


You have a lot of little food trucks here where you can eat snacks.

Today we went to a truck where they sell Pastel (fried filled pastry) but also Caldo de Cana (Sugarcane juice).

This juice I never have been able to find fresh in the Netherlands (we have it in cans and it's awful).

They use heavy machinery to squeeze the juice out of the cane.


IMG_9260.jpg


The result


IMG_9261.jpg


We also had a Pastel each. I had one filled with Cheese and Bianca with Cheese and Calabrese (sausage).

Just out of the frier they are fantastically crispy and delicious.


IMG_9263.jpg


I have been asked a couple of time of the costs of food here and since getting here the prices of the stores and shops have dropped considerably compared to Sao Paulo.

This juice (2x300 ml) and 2 pastels costs us 16 Brazilian Real or $3,80 USD.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

This juice (2x300 ml) and 2 pastels costs us 16 Brazilian Real or $3,80 USD.

Very nice!

Do you think you could live in Brazil for a couple of years or longer?

I could live here. Probably would choose a little bigger city and would like to speak better Portugese!

It's an amazing thing, my friend and I've never tried sugar cane juice, so we do not have it on sale and I'm sure it's delicious. You are right, these cafes are very comfortable, since you can just eat in the fresh air and relax. Enjoy and relax. Well done! Thanks Mark

You had me at snacks!

@exyle
Thats a classic here in brazil! Its funny to see our culture from other perspective, I'm loving those posts, by the way have you tried chimarrão yet?

Glad you like the post! I haven't tried chimarrao yet. I asked Bianca and she said its not common here.

Dear friend, here in Venezuela, that's a typical breakfast, and we call it cupcakes, and cane juice, and I can certify that they are very tasty.

Looking good and quite delicious Mark. One of these days I'll have to come over and join you and Bianca :)

When you are in the neighbourhood let me know.

That sugar cane juice must be fantastic given that it is freshly squeezed with no chemicals or preservatives. That's lots of good energy and bio available vitamins. Keep having fun on your trip :)

It was delicious!

man you are killing me with these food posts!! haha Those look so good I love a good pastry! and that juice looks amazing.

Haha! The food here is great!

I bet! So jealous! lol

I like the way they use machine to squeeze the juice out of the cane. This way you know you drink fresh juice full of vitamins. And the prices are pretty good considering it was for two people.

Yeah, decent prices indeed!

The food looks really good. We can get the fresh squeezed or pressed sugar cane juice at harvest time. It is excellent! Never trust anything out of a can to taste good! The pastels look delicious. You sure can't beat the prices!

A can cannot beat fresh. I can't get enough of it. All the juices are great here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61374.19
ETH 2885.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55