Quest for freedom: One business contract down and some more to go.

in #life6 years ago

It was a very special day for me today.

One of my biggest contracts has been handed over to another party.

It was one of the bigger doctor's offices I did maintenance for together with my friend Ben.

But the stress of being on call for 24h was longer worth the pay.

We went there together today to exchange all the information.


2.jpg


Ben actually had to remind me last night that this appointment was going to happen.

I sort of forgot, my head is too busy lately with other things nowadays.

I was once again reminded I'm making the right decision.

If you no longer can or want do something with care and attention then it's time to stop.

Not just for yourself but also for the client. A client deserves this respect.

We entered the doctors office and were greeted by my usual contact person and two other guys from this new company.

One of them looked like us but the leader o man...

The smell of Microsoft dripped of him like a new windows update.

That's not a bad thing perse but I have been doing this job for 10 years and I know the type.

Nice shirt, leather shoes with a pointy noes and hair that is slightly too long.

We introduced each-other and then it started.

They way me and Ben had been running thing was not the way of his lord and saviour Bill Gates...

Which is no doubt true.

Ben and I have always had an open approach providing clients with solutions fitted to them and not to Microsoft and it always worked well here.

I was sort of afraid this might happen, but there was nothing I could do.

I can no longer do the job and I don't know another company that has a open personal approach like my company and I always placed the client first.

I know this doctor's office will be standardised in the future.

Which again isn't a bad thing. I think this new party will do a good job. It's just not my way.

After the exchange we left and our contact person came with us to open the door.

He thanked us for all the years of nearly trouble free IT work. That was very nice.

And that was that.

We got in the car and drove home.

Halfway we realised we were both hungry and decided to have lunch somewhere.

And considering we had something to celebrate we had a beer too.

We toasted to a little bit more freedom!

Cheers!



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

Timely release always brings freedom.
Definitely more time for blockchain and keep us updated about steem.
Keep on steemin’

Awesome brother! Congrats on another level of freedom achieved! Freedom beer is the best beer! :-)

Thank you! and a freedom beer is a good way to celebrate it!

🍻

@exyle Oh The SWEET SMELL of FREEDOM. Mark you deserve this and your Life gets to be more and more Free Everyday now................

Cheers to you too!
You should’ve an example to all of us. If you feel like it’s time for a change “Just do it!”
I just love to read these stories of successful steemiens.

Good post.. Hope to follow each other @lanagelkhair

Haha, to 'just do it' is not my style. It's a carefully considered decision and well prepared :)

Sounds like its time for a New adventure 😜
Congratulations!

They will miss you! Good to celebrate with a beer!

To let something go what's dear but you know is the right decision is the hardest. But after some time there's the relief of acknowledgement that it indeed was the right choice, I had the same quiting my own company... And a beer for lunch is always good :)

(b.t.w., let's hope for the best and that they look broader then only Microsoft, there is so much more ... ;) )

Have a great evening...

Glad you took time for a celebration. Congratulations for letting go of something that you were no longer doing. I'm in the process of doing the same with my drop shipping business. I look forward to the day I walk away and raise a glass. 😊

Good post.. Hope to follow each other @lanagelkhair

It will happen one day! And when it happens let me know, I will also raise a glass :)

Thank you I will. I'm planning on closing down another website today. It's still getting orders so not easy to do but slowing letting go of all of it. 😊

Your client will be a billing machine for the new guy switching them over to Microsoft. Learning curves, bugs, and so many other reasons not to use Microsoft unless you have to. Best of luck to them!

To bad you couldn't find someone with a like mind to step in and take over your business or that could of purchased it from you.

Sounds like you are going to have more free time going forward...enjoy some of it with your nephew and spoil him a little.

He's coming over soon again! In two weeks I believe. Looking forward to it.

So much fun when they are little and everything is new to them. My girls are 12 & 8 and sometimes I miss those days when they were little. Now the oldest has SOOOO much attitude and thinks she knows everything....plus the emotions with a 12 year old girl...lol.

That is the correct way of doing things, speaks very well of the person or the Company in this case.

I worked all my life under a dependency relationship. I was a Commercial Manager in two important Retail companies, in one I was 18 years old and in the other 14 years, when I felt that I was not 100% resigned from my position, today I live from what I generate in the web, I would never have thought it would be like that.

Congratulations for the successful desicion dear friend @exyle
I wish you a wonderful day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73