Saving my family from Hypothermia - A boiler story.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I have a relatively small office in my house where I sit most of the day working and on a day like today glued to my screen watching the markets.

I got the screen up right now and looking at 1000 dollar Bitcoin swings.

I know some people live for this shit but from experience I know I shouldn't partake trading these markets.

I also know most will lose money.

Therefore I took my profits on the way up and now the crypto cowboys can ride these waves.


IMG_6741.jpg


My computer generates some nice heat and it's usually not even necessary to heat this room.

After sitting here for hours in the afternoon I left my office to use the restroom.

It was then that I realized that the house had turned into the artic.

I went upstairs to find Bianca wrapped in several blankets.

I intelligently said, 'I think the heating broke'.

'No shit!', she replied.

I went to investigate.

Now I know not everyone on Steemit is familiar with central heating. So let me explain real quick for the layman (me).

We have this metal box in the garage that warms up water and sends it via pipes to every room in the house. In every room, there is another metal thing called a radiator connected to the pipes.

You can open up the radiator and then warm water flows into the thing and radiates heat that warms up the room.

This is as far as my knowledge goes.

I went to the garage and there it was. A big blinking red light. Code number 5!

It looked bad.

I pressed the reset button but nothing happened.

I decided to approach the problem like a man.

I gave the boiler a tap with a hammer and then pressed the reset button.

But nothing happened.

It was getting too late to call an expert so I did the next intelligent thing.

I went to google.

I have no idea how people used to find things out before Google but I quickly learned that code number 5 meant that the condense could not escape the metal box. There must be a blockage somewhere.

I removed the cover from the metal box.

Inside the metal box was a plastic pipe.

I decided to unscrew it. The house was already freezing anyway.

When I unscrewed it I saw the hole that was left was filled with hard grey gunk.

I grabbed a screwdriver and started to chip away at it.

I started to sweat.

I must have spent 10 minutes chipping away at the grey stuff when all of the sudden it broke!

Water poured out of the hole!

Could this be Code number 5?

I put everything back together and pressed the reset button!

Instantly, the metal box sprang into life!

I felt propper proud I can tell you that.

I went upstairs to deliver the good news to the girlfriend.

She was mildly impressed.

I then told my dad.

He was impressed!

He said, 'You must be the first member of our family to have ever repaired anything!'

I was happy.

Saving my family from Hypothermia is the proudest things I have done in a while!

No market action can beat that!


Sort:  

Hahaha, good read man. I'm a bit put off by that you didn't call me straight away 😂

"I decided to approach the problem like a man. I gave the boiler a tap with a hammer " :))) that was hilarious. That feeling of successfully repairing something even though you hardly know how it works it awesome and you deserve to bask in all its glory.

Excellent work my friend, i am so happy to hear that you repair that boiler without any expert and also save your family from hypothermia, you use goggle services very wisely too, google really makes our life's easy and we can get any sort of information with the help of google, that's what technology is all about, thanks for sharing this story with us, Stay awesome and have a fantastic week ahead.

Lol! I love your writing! Made me laugh! Good Job with the fix!!

Wow!!, your really tried. Sometimes you will just find out, our home appliances will just go wrong which you will just fill like trying it out. But with just some few minutes or hours you will be surprise that you have just fixed it.
Well done, that's a good experience.

Wow. Great one there @exyle. How did you celebrate this achievement. You have taught me to celebrate little achievement and goals. Maybe you should fall of rhw wagon again :) Hope you have taken a beer from the fridge. I am sure bianca was chilling one or two for you. :)
Or is there going to be a surprise for us tomorrow on how you spent this night with various delicacies. We are waiting to see the pictures. Nice feat there. Glad that the household were proud of you. We here are too. A very good way to end the day. Take care Thanks for the post

I am also impressed! By you because you repaired the central heating and that's something. But I'm also impressed by your father, what a self-knowledge he exhibits there! (LOL)

Wow. What a relief. Glad you rectified the issue. I really understand the state you were in. That was a smart move looking it up google. There wouldnt be enough time to call for help.
Just incase you find your self in such again, maybe bianca could try almond drink (use almond powder but already pre-mixed with some sugar, soya powder, and skimmed milk powder).
Taste great =D
Just an opinion. Glad you solved the family problem. The feeling is more than the feedback from people using steemify:)
Have a good one.

You know when you said that saving your family was the proudest thing you've done in a while, steemify and witness came to my mind, but thank God you later mentioned witness.
You sure saved in addition to the lives of your family, some money, and got your rep in your dad's sight to a higher level. But to the lovely steemians who have heard what you've said, and would like to do their repairs themselves, I'll like to give some advice they should take before going ahead with repairing their heating system themselves.
Before you get started it is really important to have a quick think about yourself and others around you. It is important to make sure that everyone is safe before you start and that you don't take any unnecessary risks.
Do not go beyond your abilities. Stop when you do not understand what you are looking at or doing; know your limits. There is no shame is calling in a professional.

Wow. @Exyle to the rescue. :)
Knew you felt great to receive the compliment from Bianca and Dad. Great job there i must say.
Really glad google helped out. I know the kind of pressure you were in when the first trials didnt work, but thanks to google. It is good to remember that having regular heating maintenance will help to prevent major issues from arising during the heating season. Nice post and awesome writing. Like your humour

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15