And then he said the most beautiful and genuine thing of all.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

It's a tradition in our family to have a gathering after the new year.

The whole family shows up, including all the uncles, aunties, cousins and 1 grandparent on my mom's side.

My mom, sister, and brother (and kids) were there as well.

But this year was a little different than normal.

It's hard to describe the surprised yet interested look on my family's face when I informed them that there will a good chance that I'll not be working with my own company for long because I'm becoming a vlogger/blogger.

You don't hear that every day I guess :)

(I skipped the witness part - one step at the time)

One uncle even asked me 1 on 1 how it worked.

That was a nice improvement over the usual 'Its shit, it's a bubble'.

I happily explained. I love this stuff.


IMG_8754.jpg

Fee was there too, again!


What would happen later that night with the price of STEEM I could never have foreseen.

But what happened this morning even beats that Steem price rise.

As I told you my brother rang me up.

We talked.

He just arrived at his job (fund manager) and he said that he saw some of my vlogs in his car on his way to work. (I hope that's legal)

He told me that he learned a lot from them.

He also said that he thought they were very good.

And then he said the most beautiful and genuine thing of all.

I could hear it in his voice.

He said, I don't know how you have done it, but I'm proud of you.

Now that put a smile on my face. I can tell you that.

I thanked him.

Then he decided to drop another bomb.

He told me he wrote a blog post and asked me to proofread.

I did.

I will help him post it tonight.

He chose the name @look4balance.

I like it.

It's what I'm always looking for too.



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

You’re gonna have a great year , now since you won’t be working f the hospital you’ll be able to enjoy the little things in life

I think I made a blog that confused people :). I work in IT and do maintenance for doctors offices (medical clients).

Your brother is very correct in saying that, "I don't know how you have done it, but I'm proud of you". It's not that easy to become blogger/vlogger , constantly producing quality content and engaging with your followers all the time.. We are all proud of you @exyle and wish you good luck ....

It really is impressive. I think regardless of what happens in the market, being someone with a voice on this platform is an incredibly difficult thing to achieve and it should make anyone proud. Being an advocate and trying to make the platform better is an even bigger achievement. Exyle has definitely done that.

Very big accomplishment. First, to be able to get so much done with Steem in such a short time and then having your family see and appreciate your success. Have a great 2018!

awesome stuff. Not everybody that I spoke during the holidays approve of Bitcoin, blockchain, etc. I guess we've come quite a long way since the days where Bitcoin is perceived a currency for all the illegal stuff. Cheers!

Slowly they will come around :)

Very nice post. I am happy for you that you get along whit your family. "As we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same". Btw I just read your brother introduction and it was great read.

I had to upvote this because of the Marianne Williamson reference of her poem "The Greatest Fear". I absolutely love that poem and am going to do what I can to let my light shine here as well. Just wrote my first two blogs so I have a long way to go.

Thanks! I am glad you liked it!

I knew that the temptation of the freedom and fun of blogging/vlogging will surely have an impact on your future plans. I'm really happy that after you put all that work in you have that option.
Also how you managed to convince your brother to get involved with steem is a nice combination of eloquence and sheer luck :)

Feeling the security and constancy of love from a spouse, a parent, or a child is a rich blessing.

A fine tradition, my friend, when after the holiday the family gathers together, this is an excellent opportunity to see relatives and socialize. Also I support you in your decision to become a blogger, as this changes our life for the better and in this you can achieve excellent results. Thank you Mark and keep us informed of what's happening!

Oh, that‘s a very touching story with your brother! He should be proud of you @exyle, you ROCK!!
Happy 2018!!
Keep on steemin❣️

I think a family a gathering for the new year is a fantastic idea @exyle its great to hear that from family those who know you best id love to get better at this and have my father say the same its very touching indeed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63381.65
ETH 3169.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85