Visiting a beer tasting experience with my friends and surprising them with pulled pork sandwiches from the Green Egg!

in #life7 years ago

Today my friends and I visited a beer tasting experience organized by our local beer store.

We have been looking forward to this day for months.

A lot of brewers from all over the Netherlands and Belgium show up to showcase and let us taste their products.

For $20 you got three hours to taste as much as you want.

The event was from 16:00 to 19:00.

It would still be early after it would be done and I was sure my friends would be hungry.

I decided to make for them 'Pulled pork' sandwiches.

It's basically a 3,5kg piece of pork that you slow roast for 8 hours and 'pull' apart so you can put it on a sandwich.

It was a huge success!


IMG_4902.jpg


I started the day early lightning the Green Egg. I put in a lot of coals because it would be a long roast. I also put in the Convector plate because I wanted to use the egg as an oven.


IMG_4889.jpg

IMG_4892.jpg


This is the meat. 2,5 kg of pork. I coated it generously in a spicy rub and put it on the grill @ 110C. The Green Egg will be stable at this temp for 8 hours easy.


IMG_4890.jpg

IMG_4896.jpg

IMG_4898.jpg

IMG_4897.jpg


My friends arrived one by one and we walked to the event. It's the smart thing to do. They are all on Steemit btw. @eqko, @bennierex and @fabrew.


IMG_4902.jpg


Add the event we had a lot of fun. I guess I don't really have to explain what happens when 4 men are let loose in a place where all the beer is 'free'.


IMG_4929.jpg

IMG_4905.jpg

IMG_4912.jpg

IMG_4917.jpg

IMG_4924.jpg


This one was the biggest discovery for me. It's called Elven Juice by Brew Dog. It's a grapefruit infused IPA. It's super fruity and delicious. They also had a beer called Tokyo. A 16,5% Stout! Yeah, that hits home :)


IMG_4909.jpg

IMG_4933.jpg


At 7 we walk back home where the green egg was waiting for us. The pork had transformed to this.


IMG_4948.jpg


I pulled it apart with a pair of forks.


IMG_4952.jpg


I coated it in this awesome sauce.


IMG_4954.jpg

IMG_4956.jpg


I put the pulled pork on a sandwich with just a little bit of home-made coleslaw. It was the perfect sandwich for that moment!


IMG_4960.jpg


The rest of the night we played some games and talked. It was just an awesome night!


IMG_4966.jpg



Sort:  

Good food among friends is paramount.
Je dois dire bon appetit car l'heure passait deja.
A plus tard.
Keep on steemit.

yummy, your food is always a feast! and then a good beer! hell yeah!

AMAZING, BEER and TENDER meat ! What did you make your frieds happy !!

20$ really us just a bargain to taste as much beer as you like. I'm not really into beer tasting but that seemed a lot of fun.

fantastic post my friend, it's great to see you again going for an fun and outing with your friends, spending time with friends is always a nice fun and in this way a lot of depression got released and one can start his work again with more energy, all the photographs are so cool especially the shot in which all of your friends standing that should be a memorable shot, pork sandwiches from the green egg are looking so yummy and delicious, i hope it also tastes great, Stay happy my friend and have a very cheerful week ahead.

Thanks, man! you too!

Weren't you afraid you'd get carried back home with so many awesome beers on hand and so little time? :)

Oh yeah @exyle, try the beer and have another bite of tasty meat on the coals, it's just superb and I see you and your friends were pleased;)

Hello your experience with your friends is very funny tasting beers flavors greetings from Venezuela @exyle

I had to stop drinking because of health issues, so I would be drunk in like 20 min...lol Great post and I like the images, Now i have to go eat..lol
Thanks for the post.

The party experience was indeed great and the pork does looks delicious as well .
Great experience to say :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97