Visiting Gent, one of the most beautiful cities in Belgium.

in #life7 years ago

Bianca and I left Rotterdam around 11:00 to drive to Gent, in Belgium. A two hour journey.

We spend the whole day there exploring the city, wich is beautiful, and enjoying the good food and drinks that Belgium has to offer.


me


Just over the border we had lunch at a gas station. I love Belgium, even in the most simple place they have good food.


FullSizeRender 9.jpg


We got to the hotel and left straight away to explore the city. We got about 5 minutes into exploring when we came across an ice-cream stall. They had Passionfruit Icecream. The real deal, not that fake artificial stuff you get from the supermarket. It was delicious.


FullSizeRender 17.jpg

FullSizeRender 4.jpg

FullSizeRender 7.jpg


The city in the daytime was fantastic, even though is was clouwdy and very windy.


FullSizeRender 20.jpg

FullSizeRender 5.jpg

FullSizeRender 22.jpg


I like to try the best produce a city has to offer. So I look for stores where they sell good products. I go in and ask for the best thing they have. In this case. Ham and Cheese. We then search for a place to enjoy it.


FullSizeRender 15.jpg

FullSizeRender 23.jpg

FullSizeRender 13.jpg

FullSizeRender 24.jpg

FullSizeRender 25.jpg


We explored some more and went back to the hotel to relax for a bit after all the walking. When we hit the city again a couple of hours later to have dinner the sky had changed to blue and the light was marvellous. Such beauty.


FullSizeRender 6.jpg

FullSizeRender 21.jpg

FullSizeRender 28.jpg

FullSizeRender.jpg

FullSizeRender 12.jpg

FullSizeRender 14.jpg


What I like about Belgians so much and what we Dutch lack is enjoyment of good food and taking the time to enjoy it. Dutch people always feel the need to rush and be efficient. The people here are all eating good food till 23:00 and all the places are packed.


FullSizeRender 18.jpg

FullSizeRender 29.jpg

FullSizeRender 16.jpg


I found this quote on a menu in a bar. I don't know if it's true but I want it too be true :)


FullSizeRender 19.jpg


A video a made in the best location in the city.




signature Follow Me @exyle

Sort:  

Very cool pictures. Did you know that the name for Ghent was derived from the Celtic word ganda which means confluence?
It is interesting that Ghent is spelled Gent in Dutch and Gand in French.

Correct!

This is because the two rivers De Leie en De Schelde meet in Gent.

At least that is what I was told.

Belgium looks amazing. I love the architecture, it just speaks to me as being rustic, full of history and full of life. It's so very different from where I live in America. The food looks incredible and I'm blown away you can get an actually meal at a gas station. I love the quote from Martin Luther. I'm going to print that out and stick it on my fridge. Love it, lol. Have a great time and weekend man. You deserve it!!

I was in Belgium last year. For such a tiny country, it sure has a lot to offer. I miss the mussels and fries. The beers and waffles make make want to come back again

It's really nice here indeed!

welcome to my city probably the best city in europe :)

Thanks very much for including us on your trip! I particularly enjoyed the quote from Luther!

I loved that quote :)

It looks like a great day to spend the day. I was immediately struck by how similar it looks to some parts of Amsterdam. Enjoy, guys!

Thank you, Eric!

I am from Belgium mm that food though🍲 🤤
I hope you had an awesome time @exyle 🕶
Welcome anytime!

We Dutch can learn a lot from here :)

Each city and country has it wonders and discoveries, but we got that Delicious Chocolate everyone craves for 😎 People from the Netherlands tend to be from my perspective very open and they really dare to say what's on their mind. that's a thing we belgians will never do. So i envy the transparancy that is among you as in expressing yourself 👍

Beautiful city! I have never seen photos of Ghent before. The food and scenery look amazing. Hope you have a wonderful outing together! How do you get to heaven? Apparently beer. Martin Luther would be an expert in both I imagine.

That quote is the best :). I guess he would have been an expert :)

looks like you had a good time

It's really nice here.

What a beautiful couple you two are. The food looks delicious and the photos make me wanna visit Europe. Seems like u had a fun trip. Thanks for sharing, wish u all the best

Best City in Belgium hehe! Though I might be biased since I lived there for 13 years! Great pics! Looking forward to meeting up with friends there! 2 more months! And you are absolutely right we love to take time for good food and drinks ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72